How They Met, And Other Stories by David Levithan


How They MetHow They Met, And Other Stories by David Levithan

Publication Date: December 22, 2009 by Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers

Genre: Young Adult LGBT (F/F, M/M)

[Special thanks to Erin of Celestial Pages for ending me her copy!]

Goodreads Summary:

Just in time for Valentine’s Day comes a confection from David Levithan that is sure to have fans of Boy Meets Boy eager to devour it. Here are 18 stories, all about love, all kinds of love. From the aching for the one you pine for, to standing up and speaking up for the one you love, to pure joy and happiness, these love stories run the gamut of that emotion that at some point has turned every one of us inside out and upside down.

What is love? With this original story collection, David Levithan proves that love is a many splendored thing, a varied, complicated, addictive, wonderful thing.


This book is actually a collection of stories, and not all of them are YA. Not of of them are LGBT, too. This book is a collection of stories about love, all kinds of it.

I feel like I have to talk about each story, so here I go.

Starbucks Boy  (4.5/5)

This story is adorable. I have to agree that there are, indeed, Starbucks Boys. I had to think of every branch I’ve gone to and I tried to remember if they had a Starbucks Boy.

Yes, they all do.

It’s cute how the story started with a little girl’s plea to visit a new Starbucks store. The story was able to capture my feelings for the place–I go to Starbucks every time I get the chance, because it made me feel home. I’m glad another love story started there, even just within the pages of a book.

Miss Lucy Had a Steamboat (4/5)

It’s my first time to read a story of this kind, and I felt a little weird, but when I understood what the story was trying to say, I felt bad for the character. This one was my sister’s favorite from the book.

It was, I thought, a simple equation:
You find the right person.
You do the right things.
And from that, everything goes right.
Like you have a contract with the universe, and these are the terms.
I had no doubt Ashley was the right person.
I had to hope I was doing the right things.
But everything wasn’t going right.
Some things were.
But not everything.
-Miss Lucy Had a Steamboat

The Alumni Interview (4/5)

I feel like this is more of a family story than a love story, and the reality of relationships nowadays really makes me sad. We don’t know the people closest to us anymore, because we were busy with life and what it has to offer.

Well, there’s something about the stars that makes you realize both the smallness and the enormity of everything, isn’t there?

-The Alumni Interview

I like this quote because I’ve never thought of stars this way, and I just started to.

It’s not the easy things that let you get to know a person.

-The Alumni Interview

The Good Witch (4/5)

I’d like to call this story a story of false hopes and uncertainty, and I admire The Good Witch for having an open mind and understanding the situation.

The Escalator, a Love Story (5/5)

This is one of my favorites. It was a joy to read, very light and sweet.

The minute I knew I was in love was the  minute when there was no question about it.

-The Escalator, a Love Story

The Number of People Who Meet on Airplanes (5/5)

Ah, this one’s the best. I’ve always loved airplane and/or airport stories (see The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight) and this one really gave me warm and fuzzy feels. The kind of story I’d want to read near a fireplace with a cup of coffee.

Love weaves itself from hundreds of threads. Happenstances. I just happened to be one of them.

-The Number of People Who Meet on Airplanes

The story tells us that we write our own story. Coincidences don’t always come by chance, sometimes they are planned–by someone. It’s almost like divine intervention. And your heart smiles when you find out that what started as a coincidence turned out to be something very, very beautiful. ❤

Andrew Chang (4.5/5) + Flirting with Waiters (4.5/5)

Some people are brought together for a moment (or for an event, like prom) and end up falling for each other. But some people don’t end up falling for each other–their story just don’t end, or sometimes they have an open ending.

I used to hate open endings, but after some time, I grew to love them because they contain endless possibilities. And it’s up to you to think of what happens next.

I talked about two stories at once because they gave me the same feels.

Lost Sometimes (4/5) + Breaking and Entering (4.5/5)

You know the kind of stories that don’t end very well, but you know in your heart and its ending was inevitable? These stories are like that. For me they’re about admitting to yourself that sometimes we wish for sequels of stories that should have ended long ago. And because we held on, it hurt us. But the moment we finally accept the epilogue of a well-loved story is the moment when we’ll finally feel free.

I’ve always wanted the happy ending, but now I’ll just settle for the ending.

-Breaking and Entering

Princes (4.5/5)

Like The Alumni Interview, I feel that this was more of a family story than a love story. I love the courage shown by one of the characters, by standing up for what he thinks is right, and understanding what his brother was going through. Sibling love at its best.

Skipping Prom (4/5)

This story tells us that in communication, meaning is individually construed. (Sorry for using a textbook definition, but you get the idea.)

Prom might be very special for some people, but for some, it’s just prom. They’d rather watch a movie or go out of town. When two people love each other, the place they’re at won’t matter. You can make someone feel loved by just buying cotton candy, or dancing even when you can’t really dance.

When two people love each other, they know what matters.

Them.

A Romantic Inclination (4.5/5)

Another light read with a peaceful ending. I love how the story was told. As if we were discussing physics. It totally made sense, and I love that.

That is to say that love always goes against a certain gradient. Sometimes risk. Sometimes popular opinion. In this case, regret.

-A Romantic Inclination

What a Song Can Do (4/5)

The poem-ish of the stories, painful and real.

this might be

the happy ending without the ending

this might be

a reason to try

-What a Song Can Do

Without Saying (4/5)

This is similar to The Good Witch, and this is one of those stories where boys and girls remain as friends, even when something could have sparked between them.

How They Met (4/5)

This one is presented in a different way, and I liked it. There’s always more than what other people tell us. Sometimes people choose to filter what they share, depending on how close to them the other person is. The only people who know the entire story will always be the people who were in it.

Memory Dance (4/5)

Another sweet story that I liked. Short, but meaningful.

Intersection (5/5)

One of the most beautiful. ‘Nuff said.

It doesn’t have to be Valentines Day. It doesn’t have to be by the time you turn eighteen or thirty-three or fifty-nine. It doesn’t have to conform to whatever is usual. It doesn’t have to be kismet at one, or rhapsody by the third date.

It just has to be. In time. In place. In spirit.

It just has to be.

-Intersection


How They Met And Other Stories is a collection of stories for everyone. You’ll find yourself in one or more stories, because everyone has felt love, one way or another.

Final Rating: 4.33/5

Signature II

4 thoughts on “How They Met, And Other Stories by David Levithan

What do you think?

