Rules We Like Breaking by Mina V. Esguerra


Rules We Like BreakingRules We Like Breaking by Mina V. Esguerra

Publication Date: End of August by Flirt Publishing

Genre: New Adult Contemporary

[Special thanks to Ms. Mina for the review copy!]

Summary:

Victoria Bennett is in control and in charge all day every day, but she needs help sometimes. Organizing a romantic proposal weekend for her client in Mexico (she’s never been) would be that time – and the only person available to help her is Nathan Grant, notorious heartbreaker. She knows his past and shouldn’t want him, shouldn’t fall for guys like him, but that hasn’t prevented her from lusting after him for years. It’s just one weekend on the beach, away from people they know, alone with the guy who could cause her perfectly coordinated world to crumble. Shouldn’t be a problem, right?


I try to read at least one New Adult book for my blog event (last year was Boomerang by Noelle August) because I believe that we shouldn’t be judged for what we read. I usually don’t read New Adult books, except if it’s written by Ms. Mina or by Noelle August because I’m still reluctant to read NA, but I don’t want to close-minded. I want to try something new.

I tweeted Ms. Mina if she has an upcoming book that I can read, and she told me about Rules We Like Breaking. She sent me a link to download a free ARC, but you can read the story on Wattpad, too. (Click here!)

My thoughts:

I love the title. It’s perfect–it totally made sense and it told me that some rules are worth breaking–for the right person.

The love-hate relationship of Victoria and Nathan was adorable. They tried to repel each other at first, and to deny they like each other (especially Victoria, who really wanted to be focused on her work), but even their clients could see what they were trying to hide. It’s cute.

When they finally gave in, they decided to keep it a secret, and they just remained email buddies, but it’s obvious they still want to be together. They’re just afraid of what people might say. Especially Victoria–because Nathan has this heartbreaker reputation.

The last scene is very sweet and I love how the story ended, but my favorite part is when they were talking about lifelong commitment and Nathan shared the story of his parents to Victoria. It was truly an inspiring one. 🙂

Rules We Like Breaking is a story about holding judgments and knowing how to live free. Rules are always there, but most of the time, they’re just guidelines. 😉


Initial Rating: 3.875

Bonuses: 0.375

Demerits: None


Final Rating: 4.25

Some rules are meant to be broken.

Signature II

4 thoughts on “Rules We Like Breaking by Mina V. Esguerra

What do you think?

