Blogger Interview: Eriele from This is Not Your Book Blog


Eriele Japsay

Ate Eriele is the president of David Levithan Philippines and I met her because of mutual fandom friends. She’s also a part of other fandoms (Grisha Philippines, Endgame Philippines, etc.) and she’s one of the administrators of Pinoy Book Freaks United, a group for Filipino bookworms.

Ate Eriele is known for cosplaying at book signing events (my personal favorite is Lola Nolan from Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins) and for being The Mermaid of the family of PH Fandoms.

Today, we have her on the blog to share a few things about herself, to talk about blogging, and to let us know her thoughts on book discrimination! 🙂


The Interview II

PERSONAL QUESTIONS

What is your full name?

Eriele Japsay

How old are you?

…18.

Favorite food?

Ice cream.

Favorite color?

Pink!

Favorite flower?

Sunflower (Sunflowers are really pretty and affordable too)

Favorite song?

Right now it`s Polaroid by Imagine Dragons

Favorite TV show?

How to Get Away With Murder

Favorite place to read and/or blog?

My room when it’s quiet.

Favorite book?

I answer different books every time, but for this time, it`s The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan.

ON BLOGGING

Who are you when you’re blogging?

I’m this crazy fangirl trying to calm herself down by blogging and trying to write in complete sentences…Just trying.

Who are you when you’re not blogging?

I’m a girl who keeps expanding her world by watching and reading. And talking. And eating. And learning what she can from everything.

Which do you prefer more?

I guess it would be when I’m not blogging? My life’s fine without deadlines. Sometimes when I just need to vent out my thoughts, blogging feels natural. I honestly feel nervous when I’m blogging, because it can either make or break someone’s impression of a book. So as much as possible, I blog indirectly (or that’s how I would call posting in Twitter, Instagram, and Facebook?) and just fangirl most of the time to be clear. And people know me by that way—if I don’t fangirl enough, it means that I didn’t like it.

What drives you to blog more?

People that say that they always visit my blog, even if I barely post any reviews but personal posts and reblogs. They make me feel guilty and want to be more active. Those people are also bloggers, and it makes me more guilty that they have lots of good posts but few blog readers. Here I am posting random stuffs and having a lot of blog views because of what I do in book events.

I consider my blog my diary too. I’ve had a personal blog years before, and whenever I visit that blog, it makes me feel happy that I kind of achieved something and makes me remember what I felt about that moment. I forgot who was the author who said it or wherever I read that from, but it was something like, “You write whatever you want to read a few years from now, and maybe someday someone will need and love what you wrote.”

How do you see yourself in the blogosphere?

Take my “status” in the Filipino book events community. A nobody, really.

Are you a perfectionist when it comes to your blog?

Not really. When it comes to blog posts, I don’t always proofread my posts (which explains numerous typos over my past posts). I find it difficult to write what I feel at the same time correcting myself, although I’m pretty good in proofreading. I just can’t do it on myself, not unless I’ve written the post a long time ago, say, weeks, as long as I don`t remember everything, then I can proofread what I wrote. You know how fast your thoughts can be that it’s difficult to keep up writing them all out? (But lately I found a solution to this. Write something bad and just proofread it a week after when you don’t remember what you wrote that time.)

Do you like making outlines when you blog, or do you prefer to start from scratch and work your way from there?

Start from scratch. I would keep writing as long as I can, then I would get points in order.

How much do your followers mean to you?

It`s easier to get followers in booklr if you ask for it (like those “Reblog/like if you’re a book blog” kind of posts), but I haven’t done that since I made a blog, and seeing as I have 400% more followers than my old blog, it actually feels like I’m special, as each one of them is special too. My follower count is actually low compared to other booklr who started later than me. It’s pretty surprising how my followers had found me. Anything that comes from them makes me happy, even if it’s just a simple like over a post I reblogged.

What is the best blogging advice that you could share with us?

Just be yourself. Anyone can be a blogger, but what I think makes a blogger different and more special is his/her own style. Don’t be afraid to add something you feel, like you cried at this part here and there. Blog it as how you see it. It`s basically what my blog url means. It’s mine, so I get to say what I want and feel. It’s your blog, so do what you want with it. Haters gonna hate, hate, hate, hate…

ON BOOK DISCRIMINATION

How would you define book discrimination?

I tried to google what this means, but came up with nothing so here’s what I think: not reading a book because of something you don’t like. Like, not reading David Levithan books because there’s always a queer person in the story or something, or not reading any vampire books because of how ridiculous Twilight may look like if put enough thought to it. (I mean, yeah, it`s romantic and all, but then you realize Edward is old and stuff…Creepy.)

How do you feel about it?

Like it’s racist, only it’s about books. It’s sounds weird to hear, but I think I’ve committed this error too.

What do you think is the cause of book discrimination?

Society. And someone’s preference? There are lots of readers out there who avoids books by Full Fathom Five because of how FFF treats their authors. Sometimes they just want to help. But most of the time I think it’s because of preferences.

What would you do against it?

Support diversity in books. And that don`t judge a book by its cover. Or publisher.

Fill in the blanks. More people should read ________ by ________ because ________.

More people should read Zombicorns by John Green because it`s not about the dead but the living.


VISIT ERIELE’S BLOG HERE.

Signature II

5 thoughts on “Blogger Interview: Eriele from This is Not Your Book Blog

What do you think?

