Blogger Interview: Rachel from Hello, Chelly


Rachel Domingo

Ate Rachel is another Filipina blogger living in the US. She’s Ate Alexa’s BFF! Their adventures are #BFFGoals and I’m so glad to have Ate Rachel on the blog this week!


The Interview II

PERSONAL QUESTIONS

Favorite food?

Pizza and ramen.

Favorite color?

Purple

Favorite flower?

Roses

Favorite song?

I Believe In A Thing Called Love by The Darkness

Favorite TV show?

Orphan Black (currently)

Favorite place to read and/or blog?

To read: either the couch in my living room or my bed. To blog: at work (but don’t tell my job that!)

Favorite book?

How To Love by Katie Cotugno, everything written by Sarah J. Maas and Jennifer L. Armentrout

ON BLOGGING

Who are you when you’re blogging?

I just try to be myself. Maybe a more eloquent version of myself especially when I’m writing reviews.

Who are you when you’re not blogging?

Designer + developer. Jersey girl + New Yorker. Coffee addict. Wanderluster.

Which do you prefer more?

I don’t have preference. Whether it’s online or off, I’m just myself and I hope that comes across on my blog.

What drives you to blog more?

I think of my blog as a creative outlet and a way to share my love of books. Through it I’ve been able to connect with authors, publicists and fellow bloggers, which I never expected. It’s a combination of all that drives me to blog.

How do you see yourself in the blogosphere?

I try not think about that but I honestly see myself as a pretty small blogger. Even though I’ve been doing this for a while, I’m still in awe when an author responds to a tweet and I still want to do a happy dance when I get book mail. I don’t take any of it for granted.

Do you like making outlines when you blog, or do you prefer to start from scratch and work your way from there?

I pretty much design and write the same way. I occasionally have a vague idea in my head and then I sit in front of my laptop and hope inspiration hits. I only have outlines when I collaborate with other bloggers on events.

How much do your followers mean to you?

They mean a lot! I love getting comments and tweets. I never expected to have any sort of following (I was pretty sure it would just be my friends reading my blog when I started) so I appreciate my followers SO much.

What is the best blogging advice that you could share with us?

Be yourself and have fun with blogging. Try not to get caught up in stats, ARCs or comparing yourselves to other blogs. At the end of the day, just enjoy it.

ON BOOK DISCRIMINATION

How would you define book discrimination?

I think this would be refusing to read a book because of a specific reason.

How do you feel about it?

I think it depends on the reason. If certain topics are really difficult for a person to read (maybe because of a personal experience), I could understand avoiding those books. But if you’re refusing to read a book just because, you could be missing out on a really great story.

What do you think is the cause of book discrimination?

It could be a variety of reasons. Maybe you heard something that influenced your decision to not read a book. Or like I mentioned earlier, maybe certain topics are really difficult for personal reasons. Or maybe the reader thinks they won’t like a specific genre so they don’t give it a try.

What would you do against it?

If I knew someone who refused to read a particular book, I would just try to talk to them about it. Understand their reasons and explain why I think they should give the book a chance.

Fill in the blanks. More people should read ________ by ________ because ________.

More people should read Devoted by Jennifer Mathieu because it deals with a topic that isn’t often seen in YA books (in my opinion!)


VISIT RACHEL’S BLOG HERE.

Signature II

4 thoughts on “Blogger Interview: Rachel from Hello, Chelly

What do you think?

