Blogger Interview: Rachel from A Perfection Called Books


Rachel Natalie

We have another Rachel today! I met Rachel because of my support for #TempleTakeover. She’s here for an interview, so let’s get to know her!


The Interview II

PERSONAL QUESTIONS

When is your birthday?

April 14th

How old are you?

17

Favorite food?

Pasta

Favorite color?

Army green and navy blue (no military fetish, I promise)

Favorite flower?

Lilacs  (they are SO PRETTY)

Favorite song?

Anything that Taylor Swift deigns to record and publish ❤

Favorite TV show?

Oh gosh… Orphan Black, Scandal, House of Cards, Outlander, iZombie

Favorite place to read and/or blog?

At the beach (unrealistic but it happens sometimes), on my back patio/porch area (on nice weather days) or on my bed (go-to spot)

Favorite book?

For those who know me, it should be no surprise when I say THRONE OF GLASS by Sarah J. Maas. I will never stop singing this series’ praises. I’ve read it at least 10 times.

ON BLOGGING

Who are you when you’re blogging?

Oh gosh, what a tough question! I’d like to think I’m a person who is supportive of others and thoughtful in my blog posts and comments on other blogs. I try to be as nice, happy, and positive in the community as I can! I try to share my honest opinion of books and try not to bash books. Just because you don’t like the book doesn’t mean others will too. I’m highly organized and pretty involved in the community. I like to tweet and socialize and interact with people. I’m pretty into networking as well. 🙂

Who are you when you’re not blogging?

When I’m not blogging, I’m a perpetually fatigued and stressed out high school student. I’m top ten in my class, and I take the hardest classes. My anxiety and stress levels are through the roof, and reading is my balm. I’m really involved in school extracurriculars, and you can always find me running around school helping out everywhere and anywhere. I’m a bit high maintenance… I used to be really social but the more I blog the more social I become via the internet and less so in real life. I’m pretty drama-free although I love hearing the gossip. Ooh I really like cooking and cleaning too! I’m weird like that…

Which do you prefer more?

I think I like parts of both, but overall I like my blogging self better. I try to bleed some of my blogging self back into my normal self. One thing that I notice from both blogging and non-blogging personalities is that I really like to set high goals for myself in all areas: school, blogging goals, fitness, etc…. And I’m a perfectionist in both personalities xD

What drives you to blog more?

Hearing and seeing people reading books partially based on my opinion. I’m touched that people would take my thoughts into account and try those books! Getting to work with awesome publicists and authors to promote their books is another driver. Meeting new people is also a definite plus.

How do you see yourself in the blogosphere?

I see myself as a seasoned blogger now who’s still learning her way around. I see myself as a notorious book-pusher and generally exuberant person who loves sharing her love for books via social media & her blog. I’d like to think I’m a debut enthusiast and someone who opens readers up to new types of books. I see myself as friends with lots of people in the blogosphere and hope to gain more!

Are you a perfectionist when it comes to your blog?

My blog name is A Perfection Called Books and before I decided to share my real name on my blog, I ended everything with a –Miss Perfection. Haha so yes, I am very much a perfectionist in all aspects of life, especially blogging.

Do you like making outlines when you blog, or do you prefer to start from scratch and work your way from there?

I like to start from scratch and let the posts take me wherever it wants to go. Sometimes I write down some key points I want to include in a review or a few ideas to include in a discussion post. Normally I don’t plan though. It’s at odds with my Type-A personality, but I’m complicated like that.

How much do your followers mean to you?

They mean everything to me. They support me and make this experience so much sweeter and wonderful. They share thoughtful opinions and can always cheer me up. I love you all! ❤

What is the best blogging advice that you could share with us?

Blog for yourself, not others. Don’t be afraid to share your opinions. Never be afraid to ask questions!

ON BOOK DISCRIMINATION

How would you define book discrimination?

Not reading a book because of a certain theme or aspect that you don’t agree with or aren’t entirely comfortable with, usually it’s preconceived notions you have without having even read the book! (ex. LGBT, genre, strange cover, etc…)

How do you feel about it?

I think we all discriminate a bit and wish I didn’t. I try to be open to everything, but it’s hard to change feelings in your gut or things out of your comfort zone, you know?

What do you think is the cause of book discrimination?

Everything. Pop culture, family values, and personal opinions/views.

What would you do against it?

Make people more aware of this problem. Awareness can lessen discrimination! I’d strive to eliminate my own bookish discrimination.

Fill in the blanks. More people should read ________ by ________ because ________.

More people should read Under A Painted Sky by Stacey Lee because it has beautiful themes, wonderful writing, and a diverse cast. I think diversity in books is something that more and more people want to see, yet there’s still discriminated against it. Also some people shy away from historical fiction novels.


VISIT RACHEL’S BLOG HERE.

Signature II

4 thoughts on “Blogger Interview: Rachel from A Perfection Called Books

What do you think?

