[Guest Post] Racist Book Discriminator Confession


Okay, you may want to hold on to your seats because this is pretty serious and pretty lengthy but I swear, it will be worth it.

I was a book discriminator. I don’t read books written by Filipino authors, may it be a classic or a contemporary novel in English or written in Filipino. I just don’t. I don’t even read required readings back in high school or when I took up Philippine Literature when I was a freshman in college.

I guess one of the main reasons why I don’t read books written by Filipino authors is that, the first thing that comes to mind is the word ‘corny’. I am the most unpatriotic person you will ever meet. I used to think that their stories, whatever they may be, will be corny and distasteful to me. I used to think that reading books by Filipino authors is a waste of time. I thought that they were low class. I thought they were beyond my “intellectual capacity”. I was a snob, in short.

This is ironic since I dream to be a New York’s Times Bestselling Author in the future and I’m a Filipino who doesn’t support the local writing scene. I have Filipino authors for friends, for crying out loud. I knew then that I have to change. Thankfully, I have friends who encouraged me to read Filipino authors.

Everything changed when I read books by Carla De Guzman, Christine Brae, Jane Vergara, Lualhati Bautista, and Mina Esguerra. Most of them are women, I know. I haven’t seen any male authors but I know they are out there somewhere. I realized after reading my first ever Filipino author is that I missed that feeling. You have this new book written by an author you haven’t even heard of and you turn the page and it’s like Christmas. I also learned more about the Filipino culture, a culture so rich that even Filipinos don’t seem to appreciate that much but should.

So what I learned from that experience is that I should widen my horizons. I let out my snobbishness and brought in love for Filipino authors. As readers, we should not be ignorant. We should take in everything we read. We should not be prejudiced. Let’s go out of our comfort zones. There are just so many books written by such great authors just waiting for us out there to read. The more books we read, the more we learn, experience, enjoy, and love.


MEET THE BLOGGER

Ate Anette is a friend of mine, and I’m so glad when she told me that she wanted to participate in this blog event by writing a guest post. Visit her blog to know her more! You can also say hi on Twitter. 🙂

Blog | Twitter

5 thoughts on “[Guest Post] Racist Book Discriminator Confession

  1. I can relate. I am also not a fan of Filipino books even if the language is english. The reason why is that most of these books have no originality and yeah, big word “CORNY”. Wattpad? A big no no!! But because of what she said, I’ll also try to read some pinoy- authored books. Maybe, I’ll be enlightened.

What do you think?

