Dare to be Different: Thoughts on #WeNeedDiverseBooks


#WeNeedDiverseBooks

Last year, I wrote a post on how I understand book discrimination.

This year, I want to share my thoughts on #WeNeedDiverseBooks.

#WeNeedDiverseBooks started last April 2014, but I didn’t know about it yet when last year’s blog event happened. I’m talking about it now, because #BetterLateThanNever ❤

I love seeing books about stuff that I never thought of before. I love seeing books that offer a different take on something I’m familiar about. I love seeing books that dare to be different.

All the Bright Places: The reality of mental illness

This year, I got the chance to read a book on mental illness for the first time.

All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven made a lot of people cry. It’s making a lot of people cry right now, and it will probably make a lot of people cry in the future. Jennifer retweets a lot of reactions on Twitter.

All the Bright Places did not make me cry, and at first I felt heartless for not crying on such a ‘poignant’ (as most readers describe it) book, but I realized that a book doesn’t have to make me cry for it to make a huge impact on me.

Up to this day, All the Bright Places still holds the title for most number of sticky flags. I marked so many quotes and relatable lines. I marked a lot of significant events.

The reason why I didn’t cry while reading All the Bright Places is still a mystery to me, but as I said in my review, does a book have to make you cry for it to be special?

I’ll leave you with that question.

More Happy Than Not: On respect for the LGBT community

More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera is a book that screams diversity. I mentioned on my review that it’s the definition of a diverse book.

I love the sci-fi part of the book, the part that offers a new beginning, a fresh start, an institute that can erase one’s memories.

Before I talk about my thoughts for the story, I’ll tell you something first: More Happy Than Not skyrocketed my respect for the LGBT community.

-An excerpt of my review for More Happy Than Not

But the best thing about this book is how it was written. Adam wrote from his heart, and as a writer, I think that’s the most beautiful kind of writing.

I’m not pro-LGBT, nor anti-LGBT. I’m on the ground that says respect and I’d like to believe that’s enough. 🙂

The Road Not Taken

I think it’s good to be known for joining the bandwagon to do something good, or to promote a cause. But I believe it’s better to be known for doing something that no one has ever done before.

Being different has its risks. But whenever I ask myself if the risks are worth taking, I think of Robert Frost’s poem, The Road Not Taken.

I  took the road less traveled by, and that has made all the difference.

Every time I tell someone about this blog event, I get asked on what book discrimination is. If you try to search for the words on Google, all you’ll find are my blog event posts.

But I feel like book discrimination is something familiar to everyone, something we all understand deep inside. We just didn’t know what to call it, and now we do. 🙂

I want to support the #WeNeedDiverseBooks campaign and I believe that this blog event can show my support. 🙂

I’d love to know what you think! If you want to participate in this month’s blog event, go to this form and submit your reaction! 🙂

Thank you and hoping to see your submissions!

Signature II

6 thoughts on “Dare to be Different: Thoughts on #WeNeedDiverseBooks

What do you think?

