Time Travel Thursday (5): Trial by Fire by Josephine Angelini


Time Travel Thursdays

Last week, we had Mortal Danger. This week, we have Trial by Fire by Josephine Angelini, which I reviewed last September 28, 2014. Get ready to meet the same people from different universes–again!

Let’s travel back to September 28, 2014 …here’s what I posted:

Trial by FireTrial by Fire by Josephine Angelini

Publication Date: September 2, 2014 by Feiwel and Friends

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

[Special thanks to Swoon Reads! I won an ARC of this book from the #10WordLoveStory contest.]

Goodreads Summary:

This world is trying to kill Lily Proctor. Her life-threatening allergies keep her from enjoying experiences that others in her hometown of Salem take for granted, which is why she is determined to enjoy her first high school party with her best friend and longtime crush, Tristan. But after a humiliating incident in front of half her graduating class, Lily wishes she could just disappear.

Suddenly, Lily is in a different Salem—one overrun with horrifying creatures and ruled by powerful women called Crucibles. Strongest and cruelest of them all is Lillian . . . Lily’s other self in this alternate universe.

What makes Lily weak at home is what makes her extraordinary in New Salem. In this confusing world, Lily is torn between responsibilities she can’t hope to shoulder alone and a love she never expected.

An intriguing gothic book…

The cover, the title, and the theme of the book itself made me curious. And when I finally had the time to start reading, I entered the world–no–worlds that Josephine created.

I do not regret anything.

As Lily found herself in a new world, so did I. There were a lot of times when I felt like I’m Lily. In the first quarter of the book, I found myself in her shoes. Not that I have allergies or something–I just felt the same way towards people.

Self-preservation. Lily doesn’t have many friends because she just wanted to have real friends. After all, what’s the use of having tons of fake friends? #JustSayin’

Lily had some issues with her family too, especially her mother, but all the questions that Lily (and I) had in mind were answered one by one as the story progressed.

Multiple universes for the win!

I like the idea of having multiple universes, of the possibility of having multiple versions of oneself. Josephine opened a new door for my imagination, and I love her for that. I’ve always wondered about the possibility of the impossible, and this book showed something like that.

Character spotlight–Rowan Fall

Rowan Fall reminded me of two fictional boys that I happen to love so much. Perry from Under the Never Sky and Four from Divergent. Perry and Four are just the top two boys on my list of fictional boyfriends. Kian from Mortal Danger is on the third spot, and now, on the fourth, is Rowan.

My thoughts:

I like how the story reminded me of other stories that I’ve read before–Trial by Fire was an interesting mix of interesting stories. But…I just have to say that the chapters were too long. I hate long chapters. They make me feel like I’m not getting anywhere. In a chapter, there were multiple scenes, and if those scenes were the chapters themselves, I wouldn’t have given a Chapter Length Demerit to this book. (Yeah, it’s sad that I have to give that demerit.)

There were a lot of swoony moments courtesy of Rowan (I love swoony moments!) and there were sudden plot twists that kept me going on.

The fourth quarter of the book raised so many questions about Lillian and it was my favorite part. Thumbs up for making me want more!

Trial by Fire is a great start for a trilogy. My hands are already itching for the next book, because of that ending.

***

Initial Rating: 4.375/5

Bonuses: 0.375

Demerits: 0.125

***

FINAL RATING: 4.63

***

Final Words:

Your worst enemy will always be yourself.

Signature

Now we’re back in the present, and we’re going to talk about the quotes!

One thing that I really love about Macmillan is that they post quote roundups of their books. However, the quotes that they post may or may not include the quotes that I want to post. If a quote I love is in their roundup, I’ll post the quote image from their site. If a quote I love is not in their roundup, I’ll just type the quote here. 🙂 (Click here if you want to see the full quote roundup!)

TBF I

What’s interesting about this book is that you can have another version of yourself in another universe. AND I LOVE THAT! 🙂

You can’t run from yourself forever.
-Lillian

Because if there’s someone who will never leave you alone, it’s you.

I’m not stubborn, I have conviction. And I’m not afraid to do something difficult in order to stay true to my beliefs.
-Lily

That’s our Lily, a strong, independent lady who stands up for what she believes in.

I guess every version of the world is flawed somehow. Nothing’s perfect.
-Rowan

What one world lacks, the other version has plenty. It has to work that way, or else the idea would be pointless.

You’re thoughtful. Considerate. You’re still stubborn as hell, but you take other people’s feelings into account. It’s not all your way all the time. You have no idea how much that means to me.
-Rowan

So I guess this is Rowan’s way of saying, “I like you, Lily.”

You have her strength of mind, Lily. When you believe in something, you follow through, whatever it takes. He loves that about you. And it scares him to pieces.
-Caleb

I guess this is Caleb’s way of supporting Rowan’s statement above. If it doesn’t terrify you, it’s not love.

I can be a selfish person sometimes, but in the end I’d rather help my friends than help myself.
-Tristan

Awwww…this is so touching. Tristan is one of the best side characters. 🙂

There are things that a person can live through that make him weaker. Things that can leave you less than you were before.
-Carrick

I refuse to believe this, Carrick. I believe that even if you feel weaker after going through something, you still became stronger deep inside. Because you survived whatever it is that happened to you. It means you’re meant for greater things. 🙂

Every choice we make–every fork in the road where we have to decide to go left or right–is actually two universes bubbling up and being born.
-The shaman

The domino effect of choices, the chain reaction of decisions. Something inevitable, always a part of life.

It’s not about winning. It’s about having nothing else to lose.
-The sachem

Now this is one clever quote.

I’ve always been big on fighting for what I believe in.
-Lily

Go Lily! I support you all the way!

I’ll be with you, always.
-Rowan

I remembered Kian upon reading this. Being there for someone is one of the best things someone could do to help.

Favorite Quote:

The people who love you will guide you like bright lights into the other worlds.
-The shaman

Love is the light that will get you through the hardest of times. Beautiful words from the shaman. 🙂

Firewalker will out soon, and I’m telling you, you don’t want to miss this series. Go grab your copy of Trial by Fire now! 🙂

Signature II

What do you think?

