[Blog Tour] More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera


More Happy Than Not Blog Tour BannerMore Happy Than NotMore Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera

Publication Date: June 2, 2015 by Soho Teen

Genre: Young Adult LGBT (M/M)

[Special thanks to the publisher and Edelweiss for the review copy!]

Goodreads Summary:

Part Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, part Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe, Adam Silvera’s extraordinary debut novel offers a unique confrontation of race, class and sexuality during one charged near-future summer in the Bronx.

When it first gets announced, the Leteo Institute’s memory-alteration procedure seems too good to be true to Aaron Soto—miracle cure-alls don’t tend to pop up in the Bronx projects. Aaron can’t forget how he’s grown up poor, how his friends all seem to shrug him off, and how his father committed suicide in their one bedroom apartment. He has the support of his patient girlfriend, if not necessarily his distant brother and overworked mother, but it’s not enough.

Then Thomas shows up. He doesn’t mind Aaron’s obsession over the Scorpius Hawthorne books and has a sweet movie set-up on his roof. There are nicknames. Aaron’s not only able to be himself, but happiness feels easy with Thomas. The love Aaron discovers may cost him what’s left of his life, but since Aaron can’t suddenly stop being gay Leteo may be the only way out.

Before I talk about my thoughts for the story, I’ll tell you something first: More Happy Than Not skyrocketed my respect for the LGBT community.

I always say this: I’m on neutral ground, not pro, not anti. I just respect them. But this book made the amount of respect I have as big as the giant sequoia trees in San Francisco.

Okay, why?

The story already got me on the second paragraph. It kept up with my expectations and the plot twists were the beautiful surprises that made the story more amazing.

I had fun reading my e-ARC on my Kindle, and I’m glad to read about another perspective on being gay. I’ve read Nikki Godwin’s Falling From the Sky, and liked it. But Adam’s More Happy Than Not is so much more than Aaron’s journey. The idea of Leteo glued me into this story, because I love talking about memories and how I’d never change a thing even if sometimes I look like I’d want to.

It sucks that I can’t quote the e-ARC because it’s an e-ARC. But I hope to win a hardcover copy of this book from Soho Teen, my fingers are crossed for their giveaway. I can say so much more for this story if only I can post the quotes that I really love. The last line of this story is one of the best last lines that I ever read.

The biggest revelation in the story that totally shocked me and made me say, “Wait, what?” and made me go back to reread some parts is SO SO AWESOME THAT I COULDN’T STOP READING AFTER READING THAT PART.

Also, More Happy Than Not is not just about Aaron, it’s about his relationships to different people. His friends. His family. I love that, even if the family part is so painful because Aaron narrated what he had to go through. I felt so sorry for him.

More Happy Than Not is the definition of a diverse book. Combining current issues in our society, science fiction, and coming of age memories in a story of a boy who was brave enough to go for what makes him happy.

Because let’s face it. The biggest fears in our hearts hold the key to true happiness. And I’m not talking about anything paranormal here. I’m talking about life choices that we have to make to have internal peace.

I’m happy for Aaron, despite what happened to him. 🙂

Adam Silvera wrote a story from his heart. I’m a writer. I know when a story is written from within. *slow clap*

***

Initial Rating: 4.375/5

Bonuses: 1.25

Demerits: None

***

Final Rating: 5.63/5

The heart finds a way to remember.

Signature II

3 thoughts on “[Blog Tour] More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera

  1. Wow I really want to read this now! The story line looks great. The cover even looks good too. Very simple but nice. I am definitely adding this to my goodreads list.

What do you think?

