Love Fortunes and Other Disasters by Kimberly Karalius


Love Fortunes and Other DisastersLove Fortunes and Other Disasters by Kimberly Karalius

Publication Date: May 12, 2015 by Swoon Reads

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

[Special thanks to the publisher for the review copy!]

Goodreads Summary:

In the tradition of Alice Hoffman’s Practical Magic, one girl chooses to change her fortune and her fate by falling in love.

Love is real in the town of Grimbaud, and Fallon Dupree has dreamed of attending high school there for years. After all, generations of Duprees have successfully followed the (100% accurate!) love fortunes from Zita’s famous Love Charms Shop to happily marry their high school sweethearts. It’s a tradition. So she is both stunned and devastated when her fortune states that she will NEVER find love. Fortunately, Fallon isn’t the only student with a terrible love fortune, and a rebellion is brewing. Fallon is determined to take control of her own fate—even if it means working with a notorious heartbreaker like Sebastian. Will Fallon and Sebastian be able to overthrow Zita’s tyranny and fall in love?

This is my 120th post and my first post for the month of June. It’s officially my vacation and my chance to make up for all those weeks when I couldn’t post book reviews.

LOVE FORTUNES AND OTHER DISASTERS IS ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤

SO MUCH LOVE FOR THIS BOOK!

This book is truly, one of the best fantasy books I’ve ever read. Everything made sense and I love how the characters’ lives were intertwined. The idea of an uprising already popped up at the second chapter. Fallon and her friends refuse to be controlled by their love fortune. Those ticker tapes coudn’t define their destiny, and I felt a Divergent vibe there. That scene in Chapter Two felt like a scene in Allegiant, only with that cute, fantasy feel. There were a lot of mysteries that were all unraveled and I loved that. First is the mystery of Sebastian’s love fortune, then the identity of Hard-boiled Hal, and…Zita! I did not see all of those coming, and they were revealed very smoothly that I understood the whys and hows clearly.

I WOULD LOVE TO VISIT GRIMBAUD.

Kim painted a picture of a magical town full of things I would love to have and places I would want to go to. The Tunnel of Love is really romantic, and I wish I could go to a real one. Grimbaud is indeed, a town full of love, and it didn’t deserve to be under Zita’s tyranny.

BUT…ZITA HAS A STORY, TOO. AND I DIDN’T HATE HER TOO MUCH BECAUSE I KNOW WHERE HER HATRED CAME FROM. I JUST WISH SHE DIDN’T LET THE EVIL INSIDE HER WIN.

I LOVE THE QUOTES!

There’ll be a quote roundup below, and you’ll see how much I could relate and how much fun I had marking the quotes with my sticky flags. 😀

SIDE STORIES FOR THE WIN ❤

The book is not just about Fallon and Sebastian. Anais and Nico are Fallon’s friends, and their stories were given spotlights. Another side story that I really like was the one about Bram and Emma. You’ll know when you read the book!

Let’s give a little credit to Zita…

Zita is actually a genius for playing with Loves power and tweaking the love fortunes to make them riddles.

I NEVER THOUGHT LOVE WOULD DISGUISE THAT WAY.

Seriously. It never crossed my mind and I was so surprised that Love was the- Okay, no spoilers.

More thoughts and more feels…

I love the development of the story. True friendship and true love–they’re really in the book. Sebastian would seem like a jerk at first, but when you get to know him as the story progresses, you’ll see his true self. And I dare you not to fall in love with the real Sebastian. The idea of a true love’s kiss was present in the book, and when I saw a different perspective on the most famous spell-breaker in fairytales, I couldn’t help but smile. Maleficent and Frozen also showed different takes on true love/true love’s kiss, and I love how stories of this age try to show that not everything is meant to be seen as they are. 🙂 Love Fortunes and Other Disasters took me to another world that would be impossible not to think of, even after turning the last page of a book that had me right from the start. ❤

***

Quote love! ❤

 I wish I could just tell them how to love.

-Love

But it doesn’t work that way, and Grimbaud had to learn that the hard way.

I don’t want this to be the end. If I can find love somehow, some way, I want to take it.

-Fallon

That’s the spirit, Fallon. 🙂

Who knows? We could fall in love.

-Sebastian

We Could Fall in Love is the original title of the book, and when I saw this Sebastian line, I smiled automatically. ❤

A library, no matter how big or small, is a careful balance of love and responsibility. A machine, if you will, cranked by those who care most about reading. What a wonderful balm it is for the soul.

-Ms. Ward

A wonderful quote about libraries from Ms. Ward. 🙂 Bookworms can relate, can’t we? 😉

There’s nothing wrong with wanting to fall in love.

-Fallon

Aww, Fallon. Your dooming love fortune shouldn’t bring you down, and look at what you said just there. Very empowering.

By reading about characters falling in love, they rebelled against Zita. They were still able to dream.

This quote is from the narrator, an unknown voice,  and in this quote, the narrator was talking about the spinsters who read romance novels.

You forget that love doesn’t always mean happy endings. The greatest love comes with tragedy.

-Zita

I could feel Zita’s pain with this quote. She was badly hurt, too. And she spoke of a great truth here. But she forgot to add that the greatest love can survive even the greatest tragedy.

People shouldn’t know their romantic fates. Because the truth is that it changes.

-Hijiri

THIS. Two thumbs up for Hijiri!!! ❤

Then let people depend on themselves. Let them mend and break their hearts together. Being blind isn’t such a bad thing.

-Love

Well said, Love. *slow clap*

Favorite quote:

Life is about making mistakes. If you don’t take chances, blindfolded and frightened as you are, you’re not really living, are you? Heartache makes you stronger. Misery is the stuff of good poetry. You’re denying yourself much more than the bad things in life by listening to Zita’s fortunes.

-Mirthe

AAAAH, THIS QUOTE IS THE BEST! REALLY, REALLY, THE BEST!

Heartache made me stronger.

Misery became the stuff of my novels.

The relate factor of this quote is just so high that I couldn’t contain the feels!

***

Initial Rating: 4.75/5

Bonuses: 1.25

Demerits: None

***

Final Rating: 6/5

Always, always, believe in love.

Signature II

12 thoughts on “Love Fortunes and Other Disasters by Kimberly Karalius

  1. Your review totally nailed it! This book seems interesting and the quotes from the book just hit me really HARD!

  2. OH WOW!! I’ve been eyeing this book for a while now but I never really knew that it’s a fantasy book! From the looks of it, I completely thought this book is contemporary 🙂 Now that I know it’s fantasy, it looks more interesting! The story sounds really quirky to me as well. I love the quotes you added; I feel like those got me sold on this book.

  3. This will be on my what-to-read-next list after I finished reading When Cocoy Became Kikay. Awesome review btw 🙂

  4. I haven’t read this yet and it’s been foreverrrrrr! *cries* It looks so good! Hopefully, I could soon. Lovely review, Fay!

    PS. Cover love! ❤

What do you think?

