Finding Mr. Brightside by Jay Clark


Finding Mr. BrightsideFinding Mr. Brightside by Jay Clark

Publication Date: March 24, 2015 by  Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)

Genre: Young Adult Romance

[Special thanks to the publisher for the review copy!]

Goodreads Summary:

Abram and Juliette know each other. They’ve lived down the street from each other their whole lives. But they don’t really know each other—at least, not until Juliette’s mom and Abram’s dad have a torrid affair that culminates in a deadly car crash. Sharing the same subdivision is uncomfortable, to say the least. They don’t speak.

Fast-forward to the neighborhood pharmacy, a few months later. Abram decides to say hello. Then he decides to invite her to Taco Bell. To her surprise as well as his, she agrees. And the real love story begins.

Serendipity

I got a finished copy of Finding Mr. Brightside from Macmillan even before the release date, which makes my copy an AFC (Advanced Finished Copy?) and which allowed me to hug the book before the entire population–pretty much, but not really, because other people might have received AFCs, too. (And Jay Clark! Of course, Jay Clark got a finished copy first!)

I was at Starbucks when I decided to read the book. I was sitting at my usual spot, and I just finished taking some selfies with the book. I was about to tweet a #NowReading status on Twitter (along with a photo) when I realized that I haven’t followed Jay Clark on Twitter yet and I need to follow him, so I searched for him on Twitter and I found him.

But what’s supersupersuper awesome is this–when I went to his profile, I saw a link to a giveaway. What we need to do is take a selfie (YES, A SELFIE) with the book, but winning is not that easy because the selfie has to be taken in a Finding Mr. Brightside-inspired place. When the places were enumerated, my heart skipped a beat when I saw it: S-T-A-R-B-U-C-K-S.

To win, you have to be the first person to share your selfie on social media and email the link to Jay Clark. Each place will have a different winner, so I hurried to do what I need to do, and patiently waited for Jay Clark’s email.

I WON!!! And what made the triumph more awesome is that I didn’t need to run to the nearest Starbucks store–I was already in one, and I didn’t even know about the giveaway before taking the selfies with the book, so yeah. It was serendipity.

The sad thing (for me, not so much for you, especially the US residents) is that the prize, a $10 Starbucks eGift is not accepted here in the Philippines (mopes around the corner for a while), and that means I can’t use it. But one of you can. (Yeah, the fun part is coming…)

I have decided to have a little giveaway for you guys. The $10 Starbucks eGift is now up for grabs! Everyone (who can actually use the eGift) who follows me on Twitter and retweets THIS TWEET will be considered. I will pick a winner via Random.org on May 22.

Okay, story time’s over. Now for my review:

That thing called acceptance…

It may seem that Finding Mr. Brightside is just another romantic story, but if you’ve read (and completely understood) the synopsis, you’d know that there’s more to this story than meets the eye.

I, for example, have read the synopsis, but I didn’t understand what it meant completely (I thought I completely understood but I was wrong, sorry) so I was really shocked when I found out the truth.

For their relationship to work, Abram and Juliette had to accept something very big. And that something is not very easy to accept–in fact, it was very hard.

But you know what they say about these kinds of things. Once you accept them, you’ll feel a lot more awesome than the moment before you accepted them. I call this the What-Doesn’t-Kill-You-Makes-You-Stronger principle. (*sings the song*)

And for our dear characters, Abram and Juliette, the principle worked very well.

Spotlight on the whales! ❤

Yes, my bookish friends, there are whales in this story and I’m sure you’ll love them. The presence of whales made everything more awesome. I think whales are my book pets already. (Because if we have book boyfriends, we should also have book pets, right? Right? ❤ So much love!)

The book was consistent with the awesome writing that kept me interested. Although the Abriette feels didn’t kick in right away, I found them to be very cute as I turn more pages. They were weird in a cute way, and I really like that. Finding Mr. Brightside is a fun read that will make your heart smile at all the weird stuff.

Quote love! ❤

You can be that person. You just refuse to realize it yet.
-Abram’s mom

Sometimes we believe in ourselves a little less than we should, and that keeps us from making our dreams come true. I’d like to believe that we can really become who we want to be. It will take time, and a lot of effort, but that day when we can finally say that we did it will come.

Her capacity for happiness is a lot roomier than she gives herself credit for.
-Abram

Sometimes we become a little too hard on ourselves. Loosen up, and be free. Happiness is all around us, we just fail to feel it sometimes. And that’s totally okay, because we can’t really be happy all the time. It’s an imperfect world, anyway. I’m just saying that we should let ourselves be a little happier than we usually are.

How do you do that? Accept everything, all the time, even when there’s no good reason for it.
-Juliette to Abram

To which Abram answered, “Why fight it?”

I have to say that I agree with Abram but I have to admit that I usually have a hard time accepting things that don’t go my way. But because a lot of people (very important ones) help me in accepting things and trying to be happy with them, I guess I can say that I’m halfway there.

Favorite quote part:

Abram: I love you, Juliette. There’s nothing about you–no secret, no pill, no past relationship–that could make me stop trying to love you more every day. You don’t have to say it ba-
Juliette: I love you, too.

Can you give me a moment? I’m just going to say SQUEEEE! ❤

***

Initial Rating: 4.125

Bonuses: 0.5

Demerits: None

***

Final Rating: 4.63/5

Love is a weird mystery sometimes.

Signature II

2 thoughts on “Finding Mr. Brightside by Jay Clark

What do you think?

