[Blog Tour] Rebound by Noelle August


ReboundRebound by Noelle August

Publication Date: February 10, 2015 by William Morrow Paperbacks

Genre: New Adult Contemporary

[Special thanks to the publisher and Edelweiss for the review copy!]

[Much love to Veronica Rossi for the finished copy and the signed copies for giveaway!]

Goodreads Summary:

At Boomerang, one night can change everything . . .

Adam Blackwood has it all. At twenty-three he’s fabulously wealthy, Ryan Gosling-hot, and at the top of his game in the business world. His life is perfect until a scandal from his past resurfaces and threatens to knock the tech wunderkind down and throw his company, Boomerang–a hook-up site for millennials–into chaos.

Alison Quick, the twenty-one-year-old daughter of a business tycoon–and the ex-girlfriend of Boomerang’s former intern, Ethan–has a problem of her own. After nearly flunking out in her senior year of college, she has one chance to redeem herself to her father by proving that she deserves a place in his corporate empire. That means spearheading her father’s plan to sink big money into Adam’s company and launch it into the stratosphere–provided Adam has no skeletons in his closet.

When the two meet, their sizzling chemistry makes it tough to keep things strictly professional. But when Alison discovers Adam’s secret, she knows she should bring it right to her father, who’ll leverage it for his own gain and use it to ruin Adam. The only problem: she’s falling for Adam–hard.

Will earning her father’s approval come at the price of losing her first real love? Or can Adam and Alison leave behind past mistakes and conquer the world–together?

Grief was the fuel that built Boomerang.

-Adam

I’m starting this review with a quote that I found to be very deep. Adam used grief to make something that he can be proud of. He transformed something ugly into something beautiful.

That’s pretty much what Rebound is about.

WOW. Just, wow.

After reading this book, all I could say is wow.

Rebound is the best NA story I’ve read so far. Seriously. I tried to live-tweet my reading experience using #Rebound, but I wasn’t able to actually do it because I couldn’t stop reading. I couldn’t even stand to pick up my phone.

I misjudged Alison, and I’m sorry.

When I found out that Rebound will be about Adam and Alison, I was a bit annoyed because I hated her.

In Rebound, you’ll get to know Alison more. She’s a girl who believes in the beauty of mistakes and how they could mean everything to a person. She also loves animals, and her love for them is so touching.

Alison is a good person, trust me. She made mistakes, yes, but she did everything to make things right, and I admire that. You rock, Alison. 😉

Re: Adam’s secret…

The blurb suggests a dark secret that threatens Adam, and if you look harder on Goodreads, there’s an edition of Rebound with a different blurb–one that reveals a major part of the secret. (Find it at your own risk!)

Adam’s secret made me like him more than Ethan (sorry, Ethan!)–what happened to Adam and Alison is somewhat deeper compared to what happened between Ethan and Mia. That depth factor made me like Rebound more than Boomerang.

Ethan and Mia first met without knowing they’re going to work together. Adam and Alison knew that they’re going to work together, but they didn’t know each other when they first met. See the difference? 🙂

The reading experience is so fab that I want to talk about it even if I don’t usually include details whenever I write reviews.

Okay, that was a long header. Let’s move on to the details, quoted from my notebook:

First Quarter (p. 1-69)

I really like what I’m reading. This early, Rebound shows its depth already. It’s not just an NA romance story. This is about finding new beginning after some painful endings.

Second Quarter (p. 70-138)

I like Alison. Her love for animals is cute. And her friendship with Mia is a development I can’t help but smile with. Things get exciting and Rebound gets better and better. I like Adam, too…they’re adorable. ❤

Third Quarter (p. 139-207)

I like this better than Boomerang. All the feels! And Adam’s secret–my heart–OMG. Just, perfect.

Fourth Quarter (p. 208-276)

This–Rebound–it’s…wow. Best NA book I’ve read so far. Thank you for writing this, V and Lorin.

You don’t want to miss this one, my bookish friends. ❤

Rebound is a beautiful story of love and learning. It’s fun, it’s sexy, and most importantly, it gave me what I’m looking for in NA books. Read it now and share the feels with me! 🙂

***

Quote love! ❤

Most people think that success is built on brilliant ideas, but they’re wrong. Success is built on brilliant ideas placed in the hands of great people, and I have a talent for finding those.

-Adam

We should probably take note of this.

I’m tired of having my bad choices define me. Worse, derail me.

-Alison

Alison is having a Tris moment here. “Don’t try to define me.”

The world above seemed so noisy to me.–so full of chattering conversation and rules I didn’t like.

-Alison

I highlighted this quote because it’s honest and straightforward. There are a lot of rules in this world that I don’t like, and sometimes I want to be a bad-ass rebel–but that happens only in my mind. In this world, in real life, you have to adapt to survive.

Birds are supposed to fly. They’re supposed to soar up the clouds–not be stuck on land.

-Chloe

Don’t settle for less. Go for gold! Yay for Chloe!

Wait. Who’s Chloe? I won’t tell you. 😉

You’ve got to let that bad shit be what it is sometimes, Adam.

-Grey

Wisdom from my new book crush. I’ll be waiting for you, Grey. ❤

Grey is Adam’s younger brother, and the third Boomerang book, Bounce, will be about him and Skyler, Mia’s best friend. Interesting, huh? 🙂

You can be in charge without making everyone else feel small.

-Alison

Leaders aren’t supposed to be dictators, right? This quote from Alison is something we should all remember. 🙂

Favorite quote:

Mistakes are everything…it’s how we learn. Did you learn from it? Because if you did, then you shouldn’t hide it from anyone.

-Alison

Is there a need for an explanation?

‘Love you, Alison. ❤

***

Initial Rating: 4.875/5

Bonuses: 1.25

Demerits: None

***

Final Rating: 6.13/5

Mistakes become beautiful when you learn from them.

Signature II

Giveaways! ❤

Win a copy of Boomerang! (Courtesy of the publisher)

Win a copy of Rebound signed by Veronica Rossi!

Win a copy of Rebound signed by Veronica Rossi! (In collaboration with Veronica Rossi Philippines)

8 thoughts on “[Blog Tour] Rebound by Noelle August

  1. I think I can perfectly relate to Alison’s character. I’m glad that you get to like her eventually. Making mistakes, owning up to it and making everything work after is a very hard thing to do, actually.

    I love that you shared lots of book quotes in your review.

  2. I read the synopsis about Boomerang and it didn’t attract me unlike your review with Rebound! I think I’d rather read this first. Ha ha… And Bounce sounds an exciting book to look forward to! I love the titles: Boomerang, Rebound and Bounce, way to Noelle August! 🙂

What do you think?

