The Last Time We Say Goodbye by Cynthia Hand


The Last Time We Say GoodbyeThe Last Time We Say Goodbye by Cynthia Hand

Publication Date: February 10, 2015 by Harper Teen

Genre: Young Adult Contemporary

[Special thanks to Harper Teen and Edelweiss for the review copy!]

Goodreads Summary:

There’s death all around us.

We just don’t pay attention.

Until we do.

The last time Lex was happy, it was before. When she had a family that was whole. A boyfriend she loved. Friends who didn’t look at her like she might break down at any moment.

Now she’s just the girl whose brother killed himself. And it feels like that’s all she’ll ever be.

As Lex starts to put her life back together, she tries to block out what happened the night Tyler died. But there’s a secret she hasn’t told anyone-a text Tyler sent, that could have changed everything.

Lex’s brother is gone. But Lex is about to discover that a ghost doesn’t have to be real to keep you from moving on.

From New York Times bestselling author Cynthia Hand, The Last Time We Say Goodbye is a gorgeous and heart-wrenching story of love, loss, and letting go.

Expectations versus reality…

The title of the book suggests something sad and tragic and heart-breaking. That’s why I requested for this one. My expectations were very high because of the title, supported by the cover and the summary.

The book met my major expectations. However, I think I have to warn you about the slow pace of the book. Some people appreciate that gradual flow, but most people don’t have time to think about it even just for five minutes at home. I’m a very busy college student and I started this book last January 20. It was February 10 when I finished reading it.

Even if I found the book to be a bit slower in pace compared to the recent books I’ve read, I can say that the wait was worth it in the end. THAT BIG REVELATION TOTALLY CAME OUT OF SURPRISE.

A story from the heart…

Cynthia made it clear that she’s not Lex and her brother’s not Ty, but the fact that the story was based on something that happened earned bonus points for this book.

As you know, I am also a writer and I’m that kind who loves to write from the heart. If I feel the heart of a writer in a story, chances are, I’ll enjoy reading it. It can even become a special book to me, but that can only happen to books which reached me, deep inside.

I don’t know what to feel…

But I do know I’m glad I didn’t read this right after All the Bright Places. Because the book hangover would be worse.

The Last Time We Say Goodbye is a book for those who love their families, and those who don’t. The former will appreciate their families more, while the latter will see what they have been ignoring for God knows how long. Families are every important to Filipinos, and even my mom doesn’t read YA, I bet she would like this book.

This book presented a message for everyone. Cherish what you have until it lasts.

***

Initial Rating: 4.25/5

Bonuses: 1.375

Demerits: 0.25

***

Final Rating: 5.38

The last time never reveals itself too early.

Signature II

One thought on “The Last Time We Say Goodbye by Cynthia Hand

What do you think?

