[Blog Tour] Only a Kiss by Ines Bautista-Yao


OAK Banner

Only a KissOnly a Kiss by Ines Bautista-Yao

Publication Date: November 29, 2014 by Chamber Shell Publishing

Genre: Romance

[Special thanks to Ms. Ines for the review copy!]

[I also got a review copy for the blog tour organized by Oops! I Read A Book Again]

Goodreads Summary:

When she was nine-years-old, Katie knew she wanted Chris to give her her first kiss. It wasn’t because she was in love with him (no way, he was her best friend! Besides, she was in love with his fourteen-year-old big brother), it was because she could make him do anything she wanted.

Besides, it didn’t really mean anything. It was only a kiss after all.

But then things started to change. They grew up. They parted ways and went to different high schools. And other girls and boys—well, just one particular boy—came into the picture, throwing their lives upside down.

Told from the alternating points of view of Katie and Chris, this love story between two best friends will tug at your heartstrings and leave you thinking how the simplest things can mean so much.

Paperback copies of Only a Kiss are available in National Book Store and Fully Booked. ❤

CUTENESS OVERLOAD!!! 🙂

The title alone is already cute–and the cover–so much love! ❤

I wanted a quick read. So I picked Only a Kiss from my bookshelf. I expected it to be simple and sweet. But it’s more than that. Sure, the first parts of the story were just scenes, because Katie and Chris were very young. But when they entered high school, things started to get deep.

I like it when simple stories have depth in them. But what made Only a Kiss more special is that cute factor whatever the scene is–no matter how old the characters are. 😉

You’re never really sure of anything…

I bet you know Taylor Swift’s song, Fifteen. I would like to quote a part of that song.

“Back then I swore I was gonna marry him someday, but I realized some bigger dreams in life.”

But you were fifteen then, aren’t you? What holds true back when you’re fifteen may or may not be true ten years later. So be careful when making promises. I repeat, be careful when making promises. I had to break a promise because of a dream! Imagine that. Well, I was 14 back then. Now I know that I shouldn’t make promises that I can’t keep. And I also learned not to assume things. Never assume things. Never.

You’re never really sure of anything, so it’s better to be safe than sorry!

The pain brought by unspoken words…

Ms. Ines was able to capture the pain brought by unspoken words and she has put it into paper! *takes a deep breath* I couldn’t forget how I felt while reading that painful scene because I know how it feels to regret not saying something to someone I love. (Before you think of anything else, it’s my grandma. But I also have–okay enough. Sorry, can’t spill!)

Small doesn’t always mean not big.

Because even the smallest things can have the biggest impacts on our lives. That’s why the phrase small, but terrible became so popular. There are a lot of examples to prove this is true, and I don’t have to enumerate them, do I?

I mean, let’s take the comma, for example.

A woman without her man is nothing.

A woman, without her, man is nothing.

That’s a popular example for the importance of proper punctuation. Two commas made a big difference.

Only a Kiss is a short book that showed something bigger than what it seems. Aside from the love story, which is the main focus of the story, the book also showed some Filipino values that Filipinos can be proud of.

One is the value of family. Filipinos love to be with their families. It’s rare that a family is incomplete when it comes to special occasions like weddings. (Teaser: Weddings! #EvilSmile)

Two is the value of home. They say that home is where the heart is. In the book, you’ll read about one character who realized that.

YAY FOR THE PHILIPPINE SETTING!

The story took place here in the Philippines–the characters used Filipino words like Ate (older sister) and Kuya (older brother) so the story made me feel a bit more proud than normal. (I mean, imagine if it becomes a bestseller!)

Only a Kiss is the story for those who believe that love is cute and it makes the world happier. 🙂 It’s a cheerful read that made me smile, despite the pain that I felt while reading some parts. 5 stars for Ms. Ines! ❤

***

Quote love! ❤

Maybe there was no such thing as bad luck when it came to something as powerful as love.

The word maybe has two sides–the positive maybe and the negative maybe. I do believe that there is bad luck even when it comes to something as powerful as love because bad luck is something that you can never avoid. But you can choose not to be miserable because of it. Do you guys get my point? 🙂

“Even if she did use you, even if she was just trying to feel better about herself while getting over her ex, you gave her your heart and that makes you a grownup.”

I think Katie’s point here is, you’re a grownup you forgive someone who caused you pain, and you have let go of that pain. Standing up again after a bad fall is something that only mature people can do.

Of course her brain decided to desert her now. Wasn’t that always the way–you lose it when you need it the most?

This is, I think, very true. Especially in exams. #StudentProblems

Nah, kidding aside, I’ve noticed that pattern, too. You lose something when you need it the most. I think it’s because life is trying to teach you to survive even when you think you have nothing.

So this was what being in love (or something close to it) felt like. No matter how confused you were, it always managed to make you feel that everything was all right in the world.

I would like share this quote that I once stumbled upon on Tumblr:

“Everyone says love hurts, but that is not true. Loneliness hurts. Rejection hurts. Losing someone hurts. Envy hurts. Everyone gets these things confused with love, but in reality love is the only thing in this world that covers up all pain and makes someone feel wonderful again.”

I think that quote explains the other one. 🙂

Favorite quote:

“There should be stronger words than I love you.”

I think this should belong to the best #SoTrue quotes ever. I mean, these days, the words I love you start to lose their real meaning. A lot of people say it but don’t mean it. I’ve always thought that those three words were very special, but the way people use it nowadays makes me feel like I’m wrong.

I think I’d prefer to hear the words Mahal kita (Filipino translation of I love you) because 1) I am a Filipino and it makes me feel more like home, and 2) I believe that it’s harder to say than I love you–to me, it’s deeper, and it takes real love for someone to say it.

***

Initial Rating: 4.5

Bonuses: 0.5

Demerits: None

***

Final Rating: 5/5

Love makes life cute.

***

Giveaway! ❤

For Philippine residents:

One (1) winner will get a signed paperback of ONLY A KISS, a gift card from FILA, and a back issue of CAST comic book
Two (2) winners will each get a signed paperback of ONLY A KISS, light up laces, and back issue of CAST comic book

For everyone:

Five (5) winners will each get an e-book of ONLY A KISS

CLICK HERE TO JOIN THE GIVEAWAY!

Signature II

15 thoughts on “[Blog Tour] Only a Kiss by Ines Bautista-Yao

      1. I do hope I win it! I’m really, really excited! I’ve been sitting in front of my laptop the whole day editing some paper works and then I stumble in here and bam! Thanks for the de-stress. 😉

What do you think?

