[Blog Tour] The Boy Next Door by Katie Van Ark


The Boy Next Door Blog Tour Banner

The Boy Next DoorThe Boy Next Door by Katie Van Ark

Publication Date: January 6, 2015 by Swoon Reads

Genre: Young Adult Contemporary

[Special thanks to Swoon Reads for the review copy!]

Goodreads Summary:

Maddy Spier has been in love with the boy next door forever. As his figure skating partner she spends time in his arms every day. But she’s also seen his arms around other girls—lots of other girls.

Gabe can’t imagine skating with anyone but Maddy, and together they have a real chance at winning some serious gold medals. So, he’s determined to keep thinking of her like a sister. After all, he’s never had a romantic relationship that lasted for more than two weeks.

But when their coach assigns a new romantic skating program, everything changes. Will this be the big break that Maddy’s been hoping for or the big breakup that Gabe has always feared?

I live-tweeted my The Boy Next Door reading experience with #TheBoyNextDoor. Some of my tweets include:

First impressions…

A contemporary romance on the ice–I thought The Boy Next Door is just a love story.

Don’t get me wrong, love stories are my favorite. It’s just, I didn’t expect that The Boy Next Door would have plot twists that would surprise me more than I think. That element of surprise is the one that got to me–especially that plot twist within a plot twist.

Re: The Title Change

If you’re a Swoon Reads member when The Boy Next Door was still a manuscript posted on the site, then you know that The Boy Next Door is not the original title of The Boy Next Door.

The Boy Next Door is originally titled Pairing Up.

I like Pairing Up more. Pairing Up made me imagine Maddy and Gabe’s romance on the ice, while The Boy Next Door gave me pictures of neighbors falling in love. Skating is a major part of the story, so I think Pairing Up would have been a better title. But I like The Boy Next Door anyway. Maybe the Swoon Staff saw something special in that title. Something more special than Pairing Up. I trust their judgement. The Boy Next Door is the third book of Swoon Reads’ first list, and so far, the Swoon Reads books did not disappoint. 🙂

A little spotlight on Gabe:

I hated Gabe for his game with girls. He even asks Maddy to pretend to be his girlfriend just to keep the girls away because the time limit of two weeks had been reached. But when I learned why, my heart broke a little. I was touched, but I was also annoyed at him. That’s why he only got a little character spotlight.

I understand what he truly felt but I couldn’t accept his cowardice.

He’s forgiven, though. He learned his lesson. Plus: he had done things for Maddy that made me wish I were Maddy. He almost made it to my list of book boyfriends.

Teasers…

As ironic as it may seem, there were fiery scenes…

Everything is not what it seems.

Ellie from This is What Happy Looks Like can be great friends with Maddy.

Take the fall, my bookish friends.

Hey, I know those eyes. I know that you want to read this book. Go read it–you’ll seriously be curious about figure skating. I love how passionate Katie is on her story’s theme. Her love for figure skating transformed into a swoonworthy book!

The Boy Next Door got my attention right from the start. Its  little surprises formed one fearless story about falling, and how inevitable it is when it comes to love.

***

Initial Rating: 4.625

Bonuses: 0.75

Demerits: None

***

Mileventwelve’s Bookish Songs for The Boy Next Door:

Fearless by Taylor Swift

“You pull me in and I’m a little more brave…”

Jump Then Fall by Taylor Swift

“Don’t be afraid, please…jump then fall into me…”

Final Rating: 5.38/5

Be fearless enough to jump, then fall.

Giveaway! ❤

Win a copy of The Boy Next Door courtesy of Macmillan!

9 thoughts on “[Blog Tour] The Boy Next Door by Katie Van Ark

  1. Christina R. in the rafflecopter

    I love how you had such visceral reactions as you were reading!

    Love how you enjoyed the figure skating aspect and how Gabe made you mad but also redeemed his status as a good book boy:) It means he’s a real, complex character.

    Lovely review!

    thank you so very much 🙂

  2. Wow! This book sounds wonderful! The plot twists especially because I typically don’t expect them in a contemporary! I love your blog by the way. This is my first time here, but I love how you’ve paired it with music and it’s so easy to navigate!

  3. Love your “LIve Tweets” section. I really want to know what scene you’re talking about. I understand your feelings towards the title. To be honest, if the title were “Pairing up” I might not have noticed this book. I would have understood the title by looking at the cover, but just seeing the words “boy next door” got me all excited. The more reviews I read, the more excited I get.

  4. Aww too bad I didn’t manage to join the giveaway. I really want to read this book. I feel like Gabe will make it to my never-ending list of book boyfriends.

What do you think?

