How I Fall by Anne Eliot


How I FallHow I Fall by Anne Eliot

Publication Date: June 15, 2014 by Butterfly Books, LLC

Genre: Young Adult Contemporary

[Special thanks to Anne for the review copy!]

Goodreads Summary:

*WHAT IF YOU HAD AN IMPOSSIBLE CRUSH?*
Impossible because she’s Ellen Foster. The beautiful, smart, and possibly fragile photography-girl. You’re Cam Campbell. The guy who plays football 24/7 with no life. But what if during junior year, you decide to finally try for her phone number—until this glitter-crazed new girl ruins your plan. Worse, the girl is Irish, awkward, and insists you and Ellen should become best friends—with her! Only, you don’t want to be friends with a human tornado, and you think Ellen might need to stay a crush. This is because after one interaction you’ve discovered Ellen Foster really is fragile. Your problems and secrets are too big for anyone to understand.

*WHAT IF YOU COULDN’T RESIST?*
But what if the three of you wind up assigned to a group photography project, where rumors are already circling about the new girl being ridiculous? You know she’s nice but very alone, so you convince your crush to help protect the new girl. Suddenly, working on the project makes hanging out, texting, talking—and even high school—seem fun and completely normal when it’s anything but normal.

*WHAT IF YOU KISS*
What if you kiss Ellen Foster and it’s perfect enough to make you believe in things you shouldn’t. You tell her secrets and share your dreams. You make the kinds of promises and create plans to be together that might be impossible to keep when you’re only sixteen and your parents control your entire future,
but…

*WHAT IF YOU HURT HER…*

High school romance, sweet young adult. Book one in the two-book How I Fall series, ending with How I Fly.

Another better late than never book…

Like Falling From the Sky, How I Fall was on my October 2014 TBR but when my hiatus took over, poof! (It became Koko Krunch!–Kidding! I wasn’t able to read it anymore. Sorry, Anne!)

I only had the chance to read it when I finally got my freedom from college stuff. (YAY FOR MY 30-DAY BREAK!)

Well, better late than never, right?

Cam and Patrick for the win!

I love  that Cam and Patrick teamed up for Ellen. Instead of fighting over who is more important or who is the better guy, they set aside their differences and worked together to make sure that Ellen would stay happy. Nice one there, Anne.

Ellen’s mom is so awesome!

I’d like to give the spotlight on Ellen’s mom simply because she’s the kind of mother that guides, not dictates. She supports Ellen on what she wants to do while making sure that Ellen is on the right–and good–track. I know she’s not a major character, but hey, sometimes minor characters really deserve the spotlight! This is one of those times.

Cute awkwardness 😉

Ellen and Cam took things slowly and the touch of awkward every time they’re together is soooo cute! Take their first kiss, for example. The setting of the scene made everything so perfect and I am totally rooting for them!

That ending.

Well, it’s not really an ending, because there is a sequel. The action at the last chapters really made me want more. I am so grateful that Anne would also give me the chance to read How I Fly! I wonder if Ellen and Cam would end up together.

Actually the ending reminded me a bit of Eleanor & Park. #Teasers

Plus points for that natural flow factor!

I like how the characters react to what’s happening. Seeing their reactions right away and reading the things that they say to themselves made the flow very natural. It made the story unique, because not every story includes the voices inside the heads of the characters. The scenes were the kind of scenes that you’d see whenever you try to watch the movie of our reality–a.k.a. whenever you try to watch people live their lives.

Another thing that added to that natural flow is the relate much factor. I found myself muttering, “I know, right?” whenever I agree to what Ellen or the other characters said.

***

Quote love! ❤

He’s always thinking about my future and making predictions based on statistics, while I’m trying to convince him that I can write my own statistics.

Go Ellen! It’s like saying, “Don’t try to define me.” Such Divergent feels. (Even just on that part!)

I vowed that day would be the last day that Ellen Foster would be left alone on the bus during a snow day. And even though the girl doesn’t even know I exist beyond maybe knowing my name or recognizing me in passing, I’ve been watching out for her…

Oh, Cam. You don’t even know. (*wink, wink*)

I am so swooning for Camden Campbell. ❤

Even on Tanner Gold’s face, love is so adorable.

Yes, Ellen. Love is so adorable. Love is so adorable that sometimes it hurts.

Fate and destiny and the universe don’t make mistakes as huge as this one. They make connections.

I like how Anne described fate and destiny, and the universe. And I agree. I super agree.

“People are not always what they seem on the surface.”

This is from Ellen’s teacher. We all know that it’s true, don’t we?

“It’s high school. Love doesn’t just wait for football seasons or college contracts to be signed…Cam, honey, if you have feelings for that girl you just go with your heart and do whatever you want. Do you hear me?”

Yes, Ma’am. I hear you. Even if I’m not Cam.

After today, I truly believe Ellen Foster is the strongest person I know, but at the same time she’s so small and fragile and nice…that I’m really afraid that I could hurt her.

It’s good that Cam thought of things like this. But you see, sometimes we really end up hurting the people we love the most. Because only the people we love have the power to hurt us deep down, to crush everything within.

I have to quote Veronica Rossi here. “People can be cruelest to those they love.”

Cam is afraid that might happen. I understand his side.

…maybe she could believe for both of us, that she and I just might work out great. Maybe I could convince her that falling in love with me, despite all the garbage and confusion in my life, is not such a bad idea.

This Cam quote is a little heartbreaking in the sense that he didn’t think he had a good life. It’s like somehow, he felt that he doesn’t deserve to be loved by someone as awesome as Ellen but he hopes–he believes–that it “just might work out great.”

“I’m completely in love with you and I hope you’re going to be okay with that, because there is no way I can change my mind or take back one word or any second of how I feel, not to mention how I think I’m always going to feel about you. Are you with me?”

Yes, Cam. I am with you, even if I’m not Ellen. ❤ #SwoonSwoonSwoon

“It’s going to work out. It is. Parents are just people–people with hearts–they’re going to understand. And if they don’t, what in the world can they do about it? They can’t make us un-love each other, right?”

I like your fighting spirit, Cam. That’s why I’m really rooting for you and Ellen.

I hope you aren’t still sad. Or ever that sad again. I’ve been there, so maybe that’s why the photo got to me. Just want to know if you are okay now, that’s all. Because if you’re not, then I mean to do something about it. Somehow. If I can.

This is probably the most relatable quote in How I Fall, for me. Ellen said this to Cam. I can relate to it because it happened to me. Only that I was the Cam. I was the sad one. (Hey, we all have dark times!)

Someone said it to me. Someone became my Ellen, and it made me feel so light, knowing that someone wants to do something to keep me from being sad. So yeah, I know how Cam–and Ellen–felt. 🙂

Favorite quote:

This is hope. Terrible, dark, horrible, fickle, addicting, and impossible hope. Worse, it’s a level that frightens me. I know from experience when hope feels this huge it’s really hard for me to think clearly. When hope is this bright and this beautiful…it can be dangerous to my heart. To my very soul.

I get what’s being said here. According to a friend of mine, hope is a cruel thing. I have to agree with that. Hope likes to keep people hanging. But hope is not just a cruel thing. It’s beautiful, too. Just like what Ellen said. That’s why it takes a lot of courage to hang on to hope. Hope can lead you to things that you’ve never imagined. Hope can open doors that you never thought existed. Hope is something that you have to trust. It can make you fall, but friends, it can also make you fly.

***

Initial Rating: 4.125

Bonuses: 1

Demerits: 0.25

***

Mileventwelve’s Bookish Song for How I Fall:

Fallin’ by Teri DeSario

“Help me, I’m fallin’…fallin’…catch me if you can…”

Final Rating: 4.88/5

Love needs a lot of patience.

5 thoughts on “How I Fall by Anne Eliot

  1. Wow!! This is the most gorgeous, kind, sweetest review. xo xo thanks thanks thanks. Sorry that I was offline, I’ve had the flu. You’re just amazing. Please email me or DM me so I can send you one of the beach glass necklaces we made up as swag. They aren’t fancy but they’re cute and fun. xo xo xo xo So appreciated, LOVE LOVE LOVE YOU thanks thanks Annie xo

What do you think?

