Falling From the Sky by Nikki Godwin


Falling From the SkyFalling From the Sky by Nikki Godwin

Publication Date: February 21, 2014

Genre: Young Adult LGBT (M/M)

[Special thanks to Nikki for the review copy!]

Goodreads Summary:

All stability in sixteen-year-old Ridge McCoy’s life crashed and burned in the plane crash that killed his dad. This summer-long basketball camp is his chance to improve his skills and escape his problems back home. But his summer plans take a turn in an unexpected direction when he meets Micah Youngblood, the guy who runs the carousel at the local mall and has a reputation for devouring straight boys’ heterosexuality for breakfast, alongside his chocolate chip pancakes.

Ridge needs a way to avoid the guys at camp, whose only quest for the summer is to drown in beer and hook up with girls. So when Micah offers to explain how the ten unique horses on the carousel are significant to his tribe, Ridge takes him up on it. Still, Ridge can’t decide if this is a bad thing or not. All he knows is that he hasn’t felt this alive since his dad fell from the sky, and as the horse adventures come to an end, Ridge finds himself falling as well – for Micah.

Better late than never…

Falling From the Sky was on my October 2014 TBR but when my hiatus took over, poof! (It became Koko Krunch!–Kidding! I wasn’t able to read it anymore. Sorry, Nikki!)

I only had the chance to read it when I finally got my freedom from college stuff. (YAY FOR MY 30-DAY BREAK!)

Well, better late than never, right?

Good beginnings

This is the first LGBT novel that I’ve finished because it had a unique, interesting plot that did not go intense head on.

I did my best to try to understand the characters, given that I’m not used to reading LGBT novels. Ms. Kate Evangelista’s Disclaimer: I Like Boys on Swoon Reads prepared me for the LGBT experience, but I wasn’t able to finish it because *sigh* school stuff got in the way. (I did leave a comment though, based on what I’ve read so far!)

I’m so proud of myself that I finished Falling From the Sky–and I did not finish it for the sake of finishing it. I really took time to read the book. 🙂

Intensity + Depth = “WHOOOAA.”

Intensity. The intensity of what was happening felt a bit awkward to me, but as I read on, I got used to it. It actually helped that Micah can also be a name for girls–sometimes I forget that Micah is, well, a guy.

Depth. The story has deep roots, and when the time came for revelations–“WHOA. WHOA. WHOA.”

It was like saying, “Wow,” and “No!” at the same time. #ThatMajorPlotTwist #ISeeWhatYouDidThereMicah

Plus points for the movie references (Titanic! A Walk to Remember!)

I L-O-V-E the last part!!!

I was smiling all the way while reading the last paragraphs of the book. Genius, Nikki. Genius. I didn’t figure it out until it was revealed. #FEELS

Falling From the Sky, is indeed, a great book for those who want to try reading LGBT. Love the title, love the cover, and love love love the ending! ❤

***

Quote love! ❤

Flying results in falling.

No, Ridge. Not all the time. Yes, sometimes you fly and fall, but sometimes, you fly and soar. Don’t be so bitter.

“Like, when I meet someone, I try to wait until I know them before I place any judgement. And when I fall in love, I fall in love with who someone is, not the fact that it’s a guy or girl or whatever, you know?”

-Micah

Judgements. Let me quote a part of my comment on Ms. Kate’s Disclaimer: I Like Boys on Swoon Reads:

What I got from this story is the importance of having an open mind when it comes to seemingly unacceptable things. We all have reasons for the things that we do, and we shouldn’t be judged for those.

I’m not pro-LGBT, but I’m not against them, either. Because I know how it feels like to be judged. And even if we (the LGBT community and I) were judged/being judged for different reasons, I totally understand how painful it is to be misunderstood by the people around me.

Maybe LGBT novels will mostly make me think about those things. I’m still not 100% comfortable in reading them, but I would like to give LGBT novels a chance. Maybe I can handle one every 2 months? (Because my TBR pile is, you know. #BookBloggerProblems)

He needs to lose his “save the world” kind of dreams. It’s a harsh world. He can’t save it.

Another bitter quote from Ridge. He was referring to Micah. I have to agree that we have a harsh world. But. But. But. I do believe that every person in this world has the power to do something that can save this world. Even just a little. 🙂

…it’s better to get those emotions out than to hold it all inside until you break. Because you will break. It’ll eat you alive. Don’t let yourself bottle up those feelings.

Well said, Ridge. I super agree to this–based from personal experience. Let it all out. Let it all go. *sings the Disney song*

The greatest gift he ever received in his life was a cheap treasure chest filled with even cheaper candy, which he loves up to this day.

Yes, Ridge, the gift meant a lot to Micah. Remember the saying “It’s the thought that counts” because even if its so mainstream, it’s also so true.

Hopefully this falling from the sky experience will have a happy ending for me, as in not smashing my head against a rock or drowning or being eaten by an alligator. Now is a good time to let my “what if” scenarios play out, and it’s an even better time to talk myself out of this.

Another Ridge quote. To me, this quote of hope is also a quote of cowardice at some point. Because sometimes, you just have to take the leap, you know. Even without knowing what awaits. Taking the leap is what matters.

“I just thought, maybe, it might…help for you to see that you’re not alone…You know, you’d realize that someone else has lost someone and is here for you.”

-Micah

This quote gave me feels. If Micah isn’t homosexual, he would have made it to my list of book boyfriends. He says a lot of good and positive things. I love the way he thinks. Maybe I can include him in my list of book BFFs?

Favorite quote:

“Honestly, does it even matter if anyone understands? He makes you happy, and you love him, and don’t you say you don’t because you know damn well that you do. So what if the world doesn’t understand?”

-Terrence

You know that feeling when you highlight a quote but the quote is so, so beautiful that you want to highlight it a thousand times even if you know it’s not possible? That’s how I felt with this Terrence quote. Do I even need to explain why? ❤

***

Initial Rating: 4.25

Bonuses: 0.625

Demerits: 0.125

***

Mileventwelve’s Bookish Song for Falling From the Sky:

Catch Me I’m Fallin’ by Toni Gonzaga

“How can something so wrong feel so right all along…”

Final Rating: 4.75/5

Whatever awaits, take the leap.

3 thoughts on “Falling From the Sky by Nikki Godwin

  1. Interesting book it seems like there’s a lot of bitterness here. I really like Terrence’ quote though. It’s something we should always remind ourselves of.

What do you think?

