[Blog Tour] Save Me by Jenny Elliott


Save Me Blog Tour Banner

Save MeSave Me by Jenny Elliott

Publication Date: January 6, 2015 by Swoon Reads

Genre: Young Adult Paranormal

[Special thanks to Swoon Reads for the review copy!]

Goodreads Summary:

Something strange is going on in the tiny coastal town of Liberty, Oregon. Cara has never seen a whale swim close enough for her to touch it—let alone knock her into the freezing water. Fortunately, cute newcomer David is there to save her, and the rescue leads to a bond deeper than Cara ever imagined.

But then she learns something about David that changes everything, and Cara is devastated. She turns to her best friend for support, but Rachel has changed. She’s suddenly into witchcraft, and is becoming dangerously obsessed with her new boyfriend….

Cara has lost her best friend, discovered that her soul mate is off limits, and has attracted the attention of a stalker. But she’s not completely alone. Her mysterious, gorgeous new friend Garren is there to support her. But is Garren possibly too perfect?

I live-tweeted my Save Me reading experience using #SaveMe. Some of my tweets include:

To be honest, I had a hard time writing this review because I haven’t been writing reviews for almost three months. I can’t believe my hiatus took over everything–and I’m still busy catching up on the things that I wasn’t able to do. It’s sad, and I hope for it to never happen again.

First impressions…

With the cover, title, tagline, and summary, I thought Save Me was a story about angels fighting demons and humans getting involved in the fight. But Save Me turned out to be more than what I thought it would be.

Re: The Title Change

If you’re a Swoon Reads member when Save Me was still a manuscript posted on the site, then you know that Save Me is not the original title of Save Me.

Save Me is originally titled The Real Danger.

I agree with the title change. There was a lot of saving in the book. Humans were not the only ones involved in the saving, and that factor strengthened the plot.

Insta-love–NOT!

I thought there’ll be a case of insta-love. But what is insta-love, really? (A post on that soon!)

What I saw in Save Me is a case of insta-crush, which is absolutely normal. I actually find it very cute.

Spotlight on David and Garren ❤

I don’t want to spoil anything–and it’s so hard not to spoil anything! David and Garren are totally swoonworthy guys.

I like how mysterious Garren is. There were times when he seemed weird, but that’s just because of his secret. And when he revealed what he is and who he is in Cara’s life, blood rushed to my head–because SWOOOOOON! ❤

And David? Oh, David. He’s a guy of good moral character, and I love that. ❤

Whenever those two guys speak, my heart beats a little faster. They’re my first two book boyfriends for 2015. Two book boyfriends in one book is a great start!

Teasers…(Because spoilers suck and teasers are fab!)

Heartbreaking scenes do not only involve humans.

A scene in Save Me reminded me of a scene in Eclipse. Clue: It’s between David and Cara.

More than one guy loved Cara.

Save Me reminded me of Ann Aguirre’s Mortal Danger in some ways.

A sequel? Yes, please.

Who wants more David and Garren? *raises hand*

Save Me held my heart until the last page. It made me go jelly for swoony scenes, it stopped my heart on the climatic parts, and it left me wanting to know more about whales. 😉

***

Initial Rating: 4.875

Bonuses: 0. 75

Demerits: None

***

Mileventwelve’s Bookish Song for Save Me:

You’ll Be Safe Here by Rivermaya

“Put your heart in my hands…you’ll be safe here…”

Jenny also had a Save Me playlist, but sadly, I can’t sing any of those songs (sorry!) so I’ll just post them here:

  • The Finest Line by Mike Sempert
  • American Greaser by Whisky Trench Riders
  • Can’t Stop Loving You by Van Halen
  • Perfect Love by Alpha Rev

I actually planned to sing Hero by Enrique Iglesias and Your Guardian Angel by The Red Jumpsuit Apparatus but I tried and failed to sing them. (Either my pitch was too low or too high! There were unreachable notes–especially with Your Guardian Angel. But I would have loved to have them here!)

Final Rating: 5.63/5

Guardian angels love you, no matter what.

Giveaway! ❤

Win a finished copy of Save Me courtesy of Macmillan!

4 thoughts on “[Blog Tour] Save Me by Jenny Elliott

  1. I’ve been coming across this book and I’ve become interested in reading it, thanks to your review. I’ve been craving for a read with witches so I think this book is perfect for me. Amazing song choice by the way. I love Rivermaya, especially when it was still Rico Blanco who was their frontman. Perfect for the book’s theme.

    1. Thank you so much! You should definitely read Save Me. I loved the book, and what’s more exciting is that Jenny *might* have a sequel for it (can’t wait!). Plus, Jenny is very nice, and she always shows gratitude for the people who support her–I hope you become one of them! 🙂 I’m glad that you liked my song choice, it’s been a long time since I last wrote a review with a bookish song and Save Me deserves the extra love. Enjoy reading! 🙂

  2. Woah, this is interesting. I’m not sure if I’ve read everything right. Are there paranormal beings here? Too bad I wasn’t able to join the giveaway. This seems like a very interesting book. How do I get my hands on this?

What do you think?

