Looking Back, Moving Forward: Welcome, 2015!


There was a time (a.k.a. now) when I thought of starting over again–deleting all the content in this blog and starting the year with a brand-new blog.

But, no. I mean, no. This blog is my baby.

Last August 2014, Ate Dianne of Oops! I Read A Book Again wrote a post (link here!) that I could absolutely relate to. I wanted to write a post about it at that time, but I wasn’t able to because school stuff got in the way. I read that post again today (today is December 26, 2014) and *sigh*–I realized what I’ve been doing wrong.

I hated myself for the my great hiatus that started last October. (I’m sure that my first MBA post this year won’t have much to tell because October, November, and December 2014 were…ugh.)

Ate Dianne’s post showed me that I am, indeed, seeing book blogging as a job, and that I should stop seeing it like that because book blogging is NOT a job. I’m gonna repeat what Ate Dianne said in her post:

BLOG FOR MYSELF.

BLOG FOR MYSELF.

BLOG FOR MYSELF.

Ate Dianne is my book blogging hero. ❤ (Plus: I will never forget that she had my Jennifer E. Smith books signed because I couldn’t go to #JennAndLissaInPH)

‘Love you forever, Ate Dianne. ❤ ❤ ❤

Today, I also visited Ate Jesselle’s blog, The Lifelong Bookworm. I love her reviews so much because she uses words that are so vivid, and her reviews sound so professional. I looked at my reviews, and I saw that my vocabulary is not that wide. Some of the words and/or phrases that I always use (almost in every review) include:

  • always
  • seriously
  • I mean
  • I like/love it that
  • really

I kinda hated myself for being not-so-professional, but then again, do I have to be?

Book blogging is NOT a job. I don’t have to sound professional, I just have to sound myself. (#BlogForMyself)

I want my reviews to sound conversational. Like sharing my thoughts about a book to a friend. Because that’s what book blogging is about.

Ate Jesselle inspired me to write better (not only reviews, but also other kinds of posts) using my own style.

More power, Ate Jesselle! ❤

Looking Back

The best part of 2014 (the best day, actually) happened exactly 8 months ago. (Today is the 26th, remember? I just scheduled this post.)

April 26, 2014–how can I ever forget that day? The day when I met Veronica Rossi, a.k.a. the most special author in my heart plus the #PHYABookBloggers and some fandom friends.

Meeting fellow bloggers opened a whole new world to me *sings the Disney song* and I am very grateful. I’m so glad that they came into my life–it felt like, “Oh, there are more book bloggers than I think. I just have to find them.”

Since that day, I met a lot of new people. New authors, new bloggers, new fandom friends, and I’m just so happy that it all turned out to be great.

Bibliophile Soprano’s Bookish Awards 2014

Book Boyfriend of the Year: Kian Riley from Mortal Danger by Ann Aguirre

YA Book of the Year: Summer of Yesterday by Gaby Triana

NA Book of the Year: Boomerang by Noelle August

Contemporary Book of the Year: A Little Something Different by Sandy Hall

Fantasy Book of the Year: Summer of Yesterday by Gaby Triana

Paranormal Book of the Year: Mortal Danger by Ann Aguirre

Book of the Year: Summer of Yesterday by Gaby Triana

Moving Forward

I want to try genres that I haven’t tried before. I also plan to read more books by Filipino authors. I’ll have new post formats and there’ll be changes on my rating system, too.

I’ll be having new features on the blog as well. Watch out for my next post to learn more about them.

I’ll be turning 18 this year (yay!) and some cool things might happen. *wink, wink*

2015 Bookish Goals (in no particular order)

I have another set of goals, more personal ones, but I posted them on my personal blog. (That makes sense, right? Link here!)

  • Fix my Goodreads account (It’s so outdated, seriously.)
  • Post at least once a week on my blog (I don’t want to be on a hiatus ever again–is that possible? I hope so!)
  • Have a successful blog event in July (Remember the Book Discrimination Awareness Month?)
  • Go to book signing events (To meet my blogger friends and fandom friends!)
  • Have a new blog design (My blog will turn 1 on January 18 and I want a new look for it!)
  • Meet Mina V. Esguerra and have her sign my copies of her books (This might be the most specific goal for 2015, but I’m not kidding here. I had lots of opportunities to meet Ms. Mina in 2014 but I missed them all! 😦 I joined her #BuqoYA writing class and there’ll be face-to-face classes so I hope to achieve this goal by early 2015!)

Live in the present, bookish friends. No more what ifs. ❤

4 thoughts on “Looking Back, Moving Forward: Welcome, 2015!

What do you think?

