Sola Musica: Love Notes from a Festival


Sola MusicaSola Musica: Love Notes from a Festival

Written by: Chinggay Labrador, Mina V. Esguerra, Ines Bautista-Yao, and Marla Miniano

Publication Date: August 28, 2014

Genre: New Adult Contemporary

[Special thanks to Ms. Mina for the review copy!]

Goodreads Summary:

A beach cove, a hot summer weekend…SOLA MUSICA is where everyone’s going, to enjoy the best new music from all over. Bestselling Filipino YA/chick lit authors Mina V. Esguerra, Marla Miniano, Chinggay Labrador, and Ines Bautista-Yao each tell a story about this festival: the music, the people, the hearts that will soar (or break).

Jack is the go-to behind-the-scenes guy for electronica group, Box Trap, and finds himself inexplicably drawn to the lead singer he’s tasked to work with. (SPECTATORS, Chinggay Labrador)

Georgia wants to finally talk to Ken about this “thing” that’s between them, but he seems intent on avoiding it, even if they’re spending a weekend at a music festival together. (GEORGIA LOST AND FOUND, Mina V. Esguerra)

Gem has the chance to make her dreams come true and perform at Sola Musica, with one crippling problem: all her talent left her six years ago when a boy kissed her. (A CAPTURED DREAM, Ines Bautista-Yao)

Natalie is about to watch her favorite band in the world, with a guy she’s crazy about—if only she can get through forced family bonding with her grandmother, her little brother, and her grandmother’s boyfriend. (BREAK, Marla Miniano)

Four stories, one festival, lots of love from me.

Spectators was open-ended. It took me some time to actually understand the story. I thought it hasn’t ended yet. But I realized something. Sometimes not having closure is the closure, and this story is like that.

Normally, I’d be disappointed. But come to think of it, the story did not have an ending. It means that anything can happen–it’s up to the reader’s imagination and understanding. The possibilities are endless and I like that.

Georgia Lost and Found is one of the best short love stories that I’ve ever read. It had the emotion that I was looking for, and it was simply great. Few words are enough for such a gem of a writer. Well done, Ms. Mina.

I like the idea of A Captured Dream. 🙂 It’s something new and it’s interesting. The lesson behind is very nice, too. No one can ever take away who you are and what you can do. It’s very empowering and inspiring. 🙂

Break is a touching story about family and love. (Share quote about love and it covers the pain)

Young love and being desperate for affection can lead to ugly things. Immaturity is very normal and common. We all make mistakes and that’s okay. That’s how we learn.

Quotes!

I missed featuring quotes so much. And because my review copy is a finished one, I can share some quotes with you! (YAY!)

“Life. We’re all just walking around like we’re in this heavy reality, but it’s all an illusion, right? We’re free. We’re free to do anything. We can fly, we can jump higher than everyone tells us to…”

-Joseph Marcus

‘Nuff said. There are no words to explain this quote because the explanation is right there.

“Everybody gets lonely. That’s not a bad thing.”

-Grams

Words of wisdom from a woman of old age. Elders really know what they’re talking about, because they’ve been through a lot more than young people do.

Those two quotes stood out. 🙂

My thoughts:

This book made me wish that Sola Musica is a real music festival in the Philippines. Every one has a story–and this book told me four out of the many. This sparked an idea within me: If I get the chance to go to an actual festival, I’d collect stories. I bet it’ll fun. 🙂

Plus factor: The poems that can be turned into songs. I’d love to hear them as actual songs!

Another plus factor: It’s not really NA–I actually think that the only thing that made it NA is the age of the characters. So I really enjoyed reading, because it felt like I wasn’t really reading NA at all. (I only read NA by Mina V. Esguerra and Noelle August, sooo…yeah.)

Go get yourself a copy of this sweet book–you won’t regret it. ❤

 

***

Initial Rating: 4.375

Bonuses: 0.5

Demerits: None

***

FINAL RATING: 4.88

***

Final Words:

Your story will always matter.

Signature

What do you think?

