Starry Night by Isabel Gillies


Starry NightStarry Night by Isabel Gillies

Publication Date: September 2, 2014 by Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)

Genre: Young Adult Contemporary

[Special thanks to Swoon Reads! I won an ARC of this book from the #10WordLoveStory contest.]

Goodreads Summary:

Sometimes one night can change everything. On this particular night, Wren and her three best friends are attending a black-tie party at the Metropolitan Museum of Art to celebrate the opening of a major exhibit curated by her father. An enormous wind blasts through the city, making everyone feel that something unexpected and perhaps wonderful will happen. And for Wren, that something wonderful is Nolan. With his root-beer-brown Michelangelo eyes, Nolan changes the way Wren’s heart beats. In Isabel Gillies’s Starry Night, suddenly everything is different. Nothing makes sense except for this boy. What happens to your life when everything changes, even your heart? How much do you give up? How much do you keep?

A breath of fresh air…

It’s my first time to read a book with art as the theme. I got introduced to a lot of artists, and I was also reminded of those whom I already know. My desire to go to museums and appreciate the works in display grew as I read the book.

There is always a story behind every work of art.

I would love to talk about all the quotes that I highlighted, but I can’t. What I can do is talk about the things that I’ve learned–in summary. You see, this book is about love, and how powerful it is. By power, I mean both good and evil.

I like it that Wren is just fifteen. Most of the characters in YA novels are 16, 17, or so. Fifteen is somehow in the middle. Older than MG, but younger than YA. (That is, for me.)

I saw myself in Wren. How she saw love, and how she understood it. I believe that how we see love would depend on how exposed we are to it. Our understanding of love can change over time. And that change is just a sign of growing up.

My thoughts:

I like how the story was told. The characters were introduced, and I got hints on their personalities. They all tried to understand love at such a young age, and I like that too.

I felt nostalgic. I remembered the 15-year-old me and I could really relate to what’s happening. The story had a nice start.

As I reached the second quarter, I couldn’t stop. A little conflict came, then a big plot twist followed. It was too much. TOO MUCH. I don’t think I could handle the things that happened if I am my 15-year-old self right now. Wren and her friends were pretty strong for their age. I admire the way they handled things.

There was a time when I held my breath because I couldn’t take what was happening–there’s too much tension. But things loosened up, and I had a break from all the shocking revelations. Some of my suspicions were confirmed, and I formed new theories on how the story would end.

And just when I thought that I was right, that this and that would happen, I found myself surprised–again–because of a little plot twist that made a big impact. All because it disproved my last theory.

The book left me broken. Broken, in a good way. I found myself thinking about the decisions that I’ve made before, and I compared Wren’s decisions with mine. I somehow learned from the past. From Wren’s past, and from mine. And that, I think, is the best part of the book. The learning part.

A *little* spotlight on Nolan…

He’s an awesome guy, and he reminds me of a really cool friend. He gave Wren (and me!) A LOT of swoony feels. And I love, love, love, swoony feels.

If he’s such an awesome guy, why did I just give him a little spotlight?

Well, awesome guys have their flaws too. And when you read the book, you’ll understand why the full spotlight isn’t on Nolan.

Thumbs up to that random woman!

There was a random woman who said something about destiny and even if I couldn’t quote what she said right now, I will quote it one day.

Great work on the chapters…

I would like to award bonus points to this book because of the chapter lengths. I never got bored, and it was easy for me to take little breaks while reading. The book didn’t lose my attention, it kept me going until the end. And that is an important factor.

Six stars for Starry Night:

I would recommend this book to everyone–especially those who think they are misunderstood when it comes to love. You may find yourself in one (or more) of the characters. Just like I did. Maybe you’ll realize the things that I realized, or get reminded of the things that I got reminded of. Maybe you’ll love the book as much as I did.

So yeah, six stars for Starry Night. ❤

***

Initial Rating: 4.75/5

Bonuses: 1.25

Demerits: None

***

FINAL RATING: 6/5

***

Final Words:

Sometimes, love is hard and sad, but it’s just the way it is.

Signature

3 thoughts on “Starry Night by Isabel Gillies

  1. I saw this on bookoutlet and wasn’t sure whether to get it or not. Glad I saw this review and your thoughts on it! Now I’m definitely ordering this I’m so excited to read it.

What do you think?

