The Harder We Fall by Mina V. Esguerra


The Harder We Fall by Mina V. Esguerra

Publication Date: October 2014

Genre: New Adult Contemporary

[Special thanks to Ms. Mina for the review copy!]

Goodreads Summary:

She knows it won’t last…

Nicholas is unlike anyone Daria has ever dated, and yet he hasn’t left her mind since she got her hands on the 23-year-old rugby player when he took a tumble during a game.

But they aren’t even really dating; a fast fling is all they have time for. He’s heading to Japan to play pro and is only in town to tie loose ends. She’s graduating in three weeks, and is only covering his struggling rugby club to win a internship spot in a documentary that’ll start filming in Europe.

Getting what they want means they don’t get to stay together. But that doesn’t mean they can’t have fun — as long as they don’t fall hard.

A Boomerang-ish book…

The Harder We Fall instantly reminded me of Boomerang by Noelle August (Read my review here!) because of the career-oriented characters and the depth that the story had in spite of it being NA.

One note: I don’t really read NA. Except if it’s written by Noelle August and/or Mina V. Esguerra. So yeah, this book belongs to the exceptions. Because of my younger readers, I chose not to put the cover in this review, but you can see it here.

My thoughts:

I was a bit bored at first. It’s as if I wouldn’t finish the book if it weren’t for some factors. But things got interesting because of the unexpected happenings. I like surprises, and I was really surprised. (I have to admit that, yeah.)

When the deep part kicked in, I couldn’t stop reading. Mina did a great job in telling the real thing, the reasons why people are acting this/that way, and I like that.

Conflicts plus the realizations equals awesome. I chose to appreciate the things that I learned something from.

In The Harder We Fall, I saw the struggle of most people. I noticed that nowadays, students really want to graduate right away, not knowing the world that awaits them after graduation. Work is really hard to find, and in the book, at least I had an idea on how hard living in the real world is.

Relationships and how we keep them–it’s never easy. Problems will always come, but the people who truly care for us won’t leave. The book reminded me of how great the feeling is when you realize that there are more people who love you more than you think.

The Harder We Fall would be a great read for NA readers, especially those who really love NA. And for those who don’t read NA, maybe you should give it a try, when you’re ready. After all, reading has its own time. 🙂

***

Initial Rating: 3.875/5

Bonuses: 0.50

Demerits: None

***

FINAL RATING: 4.38/5

***

Final Words:

The harder we fall, the more we learn.

Signature

One thought on “The Harder We Fall by Mina V. Esguerra

What do you think?

