Mortal Danger by Ann Aguirre


Mortal DangerMortal Danger by Ann Aguirre

Publication Date: August 5, 2014 by Feiwel and Friends

Genre: Young Adult Paranormal

[Special thanks to Swoon Reads! I won an ARC of this book from the #10WordLoveStory contest.]

Goodreads Summary:

Revenge is a dish best served cold.

Edie Kramer has a score to settle with the beautiful people at Blackbriar Academy. Their cruelty drove her to the brink of despair, and four months ago, she couldn’t imagine being strong enough to face her senior year. But thanks to a Faustian compact with the enigmatic Kian, she has the power to make the bullies pay. She’s not supposed to think about Kian once the deal is done, but devastating pain burns behind his unearthly beauty, and he’s impossible to forget.

In one short summer, her entire life changes, and she sweeps through Blackbriar, prepped to take the beautiful people down from the inside. A whisper here, a look there, and suddenly… bad things are happening. It’s a heady rush, seeing her tormentors get what they deserve, but things that seem too good to be true usually are, and soon, the pranks and payback turns from delicious to deadly. Edie is alone in a world teeming with secrets and fiends lurking in the shadows. In this murky morass of devil’s bargains, she isn’t sure who—or what–she can trust. Not even her own mind…

My modern-day Titanic…

Mortal Danger is the story of Edie, who was on the edge. She wanted to kill herself because she felt like she had no way out of her misery. Then poof–Kian came.

If you have watched Titanic, you’re awesome. If you haven’t watched it yet, you’re awesome, too, but the ones who have watched it already are more awesome because they could relate to what I’m talking about.

So, Titanic peeps, I think you remember this:

“You jump, I jump.”

For the sake of non-Titanic peeps, I won’t spoil anything, even if you probably know what happened. Mortal Danger felt like a modern-day Titanic, with the feels on upgrade, and with the addition of creepy moments that scared the hell out of me. I’m not kidding. Every time I imagine the things that were described on the book, I get freaking scared. But that just means that the book made me feel what it’s supposed to make me feel.

Spotlight on Kian…

Kian is my favorite character because 1) he’s so hot, 2) he’s super cool, 3) he has a good heart. He’s insightful, too.  I love this quote that he said on the first pages of the book:

Misery leaves a mark on the world, Edie. All strong emotions do. Rage, terror, love, longing…they’re powerful forces.

(*A bit of a commercial…* Sorry for being unaware of it, but at least now I know that I shouldn’t have quoted the e-ARCs and printed ARCs that I reviewed here without checking the finished book first. So from this point forward, I’ll just quote those review copies if the quotes were already posted online by the publisher for teasers, etc. There’ll be a post about this and other stuff soon.)

The Kian quote above is already posted as a teaser for the upcoming release of Mortal Danger. 🙂

My thoughts:

Mortal Danger had a very great start. The story got me hooked, and I had a great time reading the first quarter of the book. As I reached the second quarter, I got to know more about the world that Ann was trying to create. Things got more creepy (I told you!) but Kian got hotter (I swoon for him!) and I couldn’t stop myself from reading. The third quarter made things more intense and unpredictable. I found myself looking for Kian every time; seeing him on the pages made me feel safe even if the creatures that I’m reading about aren’t real. There were a lot of SHOOT (I use shoot instead of sh*t) moments–the kind of moments that would make great suspense scenes in a movie. Everything got interesting in the fourth quarter, and the book got me, as in REALLY got me. Edie’s last favor and Kian’s letter, and it was too much. I never thought that it was possible to witness so much love and so much sorrow at the same time.

I didn’t find myself bored, or tired of reading. The writing was spontaneous and well done.

Mortal Danger is a perfect read for those who love paranormal YA. I’d also recommend this book to those who want to try paranormal YA–because I’m so in love with this book. ❤

Ann captured my imagination and I need the sequel, A-S-A-P. (No, I’m not using this as an excuse to meet Kian again, but maybe I am. #FangirlProblems)

***

Initial Rating: 5/5

Bonuses: 1

Demerits: None

***

FINAL RATING: 6/5

***

Final Words:

It’s possible to witness so much love and so much sorrow at the same time.

Signature

8 thoughts on “Mortal Danger by Ann Aguirre

  1. I have paranormal books on my library but I’m too much of a coward to read them! However, you did say in one of your other reviews that you’re a scaredy-cat and then I read this review of yours and you mentioned there were moments when you got scared. So… I guess I should also give it a try? 🙂

What do you think?

