The Age of Miracles by Karen Thompson Walker


The Age of MiraclesThe Age of Miracles by Karen Thompson Walker

Publication Date: June 26, 2012 by Random House

Genre: Young Adult Sci-Fi

Goodreads Summary:

“It still amazes me how little we really knew. . . . Maybe everything that happened to me and my family had nothing at all to do with the slowing. It’s possible, I guess. But I doubt it. I doubt it very much.”

Luminous, haunting, unforgettable, The Age of Miracles is a stunning fiction debut by a superb new writer, a story about coming of age during extraordinary times, about people going on with their lives in an era of profound uncertainty.

On a seemingly ordinary Saturday in a California suburb, 11-year-old Julia and her family awake to discover, along with the rest of the world, that the rotation of the earth has suddenly begun to slow. The days and nights grow longer and longer, gravity is affected, the environment is thrown into disarray. Yet as she struggles to navigate an ever-shifting landscape, Julia is also coping with the normal disasters of everyday life–the fissures in her parents’ marriage, the loss of old friends, the hopeful anguish of first love, the bizarre behavior of her grandfather who, convinced of a government conspiracy, spends his days obsessively cataloging his possessions. As Julia adjusts to the new normal, the slowing inexorably continues.

With spare, graceful prose and the emotional wisdom of a born storyteller, Karen Thompson Walker has created a singular narrator in Julia, a resilient and insightful young girl, and a moving portrait of family life set against the backdrop of an utterly altered world..

My thoughts:

How do I start? Well, I’ve had high expectations for this book because of its title and summary. I was about to buy another book from the book store, but when I saw this book, it called to me.

I chose to read something that was published two years ago to take a break from my TBR pile.

Maybe I read it at the wrong time, maybe I wasn’t really in the mood for reading, but maybe I’m just so reluctant to say that I’m disappointed with this book.

The idea is great, and I enjoyed the first chapters, but as I continued reading, I found the book to be dragging and I don’t know why. If it weren’t for that one plot twist, I wouldn’t have finished the book.

There were a lot of good concepts and quotable quotes, but it saddens me that they weren’t enough to lift my interest in the book. I guess this book is just a proof that I don’t give high ratings to every book that I read, and I give honest reviews.

A lot of things happened so fast, yet this book bored me. (Did that make sense?) That’s why it’s so hard for me to write this review.

I was also a bit disoriented so I accidentally used my new rating system for the book and the old format for my reviews. Mix-ups suck, but I have no choice.

The first quarter was a bit boring, but there were interesting concepts that deserve to be noticed. I like how the book tried to make me realize something about the Earth and what we did to it. The second quarter was more boring, but it’s where the great plot twist was revealed. The third quarter was the most boring. The fourth quarter was still boring, but it deserved a decent score.

But people, I want you to know that this book topped my list of the books that I want to reread. I want to read this book again. Maybe the time would be right, and maybe things would change. Because I honestly feel that there’s more to this book than the first time I read it.

Quotes:

But I guess it never is what you worry over that comes to pass I the end. The real catastrophes are always different—always unimagined, unprepared for, unknown.

There is such a thing as coincidence: the alignment of two or more seemingly related events with no causal connection. Maybe everything that happened to me and my family had nothing to do with the slowing. It’s possible, I guess. But I doubt it. I doubt it very much.

And who knows how fast a second guess can travel? Who has ever measured the exact speed of regret? But the new gravity was not enough to overcome the pull of certain other forces, more powerful, less known—no law of physics can account for desire.

Even beauty, in abundance, turns creepy.

I developed survival skills of a different sort: I was learning to spend time alone.

I had grown into a worrier, a girl on constant guard for catastrophes large and small, for the disappointments I now sensed were hidden all round us in plain sight.

All these were taken from different parts of the book. All were from Julia. These were the concepts that I found to be good.

My favorite quote:

“Whatever we write is going to last a long time. Maybe our whole lives.”

-Seth

This quote saved the book. #SethForTheWin

***

Initial Rating: 3.5/5

Bonuses: 0.25

Demerits: 0.25

***

FINAL RATING: 3.5/5

***

Final Words:

The world has nothing to do with our choices.

Signature

7 thoughts on “The Age of Miracles by Karen Thompson Walker

      1. I highly doubt Brunner’s novel is any good — I’ve read close to 25 of his novels and only his non-pulp interests me (i.e. his masterpiece and generally considered top ten SF novel of all time, Stand on Zanzibar and a few others, like The Sheep Look Up and Jagged Orbit).

What do you think?

