Let’s Get Lost by Adi Alsaid


Let's Get LostLet’s Get Lost by Adi Alsaid

Publication Date: July 29, 2014 by Harlequin Teen

 Genre: Young Adult Contemporary

[Special thanks to Harlequin Teen and Edelweiss for the review copy!]

Goodreads Summary:

Five strangers. Countless adventures. One epic way to get lost.

Four teens across the country have only one thing in common: a girl named LEILA. She crashes into their lives in her absurdly red car at the moment they need someone the most.

There’s HUDSON, a small-town mechanic who is willing to throw away his dreams for true love. And BREE, a runaway who seizes every Tuesday—and a few stolen goods along the way. ELLIOT believes in happy endings…until his own life goes off-script. And SONIA worries that when she lost her boyfriend, she also lost the ability to love.

Hudson, Bree, Elliot and Sonia find a friend in Leila. And when Leila leaves them, their lives are forever changed. But it is during Leila’s own 4,268-mile journey that she discovers the most important truth— sometimes, what you need most is right where you started. And maybe the only way to find what you’re looking for is to get lost along the way.

My thoughts:

I had a blast reading Let’s Get Lost. I love how the characters were all connected to Leila. The people that Leila met played their parts in making Leila realize the essence of her journey.

The book showcased great friendship and great relationships. We all get messed up sometimes, and there are really times when we feel like we’re lost in life. Leila, by doing random acts of kindness to people that she had just met, changed their lives and I love that so much. I think it’s pretty obvious that Leila is my favorite character.

While reading the book, I realized that it’s the journey that matters the most, the ending is just a bonus. And I could totally say that Leila had one great journey that led to great things–not only for her, but also for the people that she met along the way.

Hmm, what else can I say?

I’d recommend this book to those who love travel. (I actually added seeing the Northern Lights on my bucket list!) Let’s Get Lost is a book for those who believe that our life is a journey that’s meant to be shared with other people. I feel so blessed that I have read this book at the time when I needed it the most. This book made me feel okay about a lot of not okay things in my life, and I’m grateful.

***

Quotes:

“…I  have a deep appreciation for anything that is willing to be totally and utterly itself…”

-Leila

Cheers for being true to oneself! 🙂

People go entire lives without figuring out exactly what they want from life.

I can’t imagine meeting someone like this. Because I know what I want, and even if it changes from time to time, at least I’m certain of it.

He couldn’t tell exactly what he felt when he saw that she was crying.

When a girl cries, each tear holds a ton of feelings. (Guys, take note.)

“When you don’t have any reason to think of days as weekdays or weekends, you start to realize that all days are pretty much the same. And that kind of gives you the freedom to do whatever you want…The day is all just hours you’re alive for. They can be filled with anything. Unexpectedness, wildness, maybe a little bit of lawlessness, even.”

-Bree

I like how Bree viewed the concept of days. Everything that she said made sense.

“The best ID in the world is a smile and a wave.”

-Bree

Well said, Bree. Well said.

“But life’s not like the movies. You try to live your life like the movies, and you end up with a bloody hand and a broken heart.”

-Elliot

I realized that I have to stop hoping that my life would be like the movies. Because all of us have our own love stories, and mine hasn’t started yet. (Or has it?)

“This isn’t going to be the last time you’re in love, and it’s probably not going to be the last time you’re heartbroken. You can’t go walking into traffic every time it happens.”

-Leila

Leila tried to make Elliot realize this, and I was struck with the thought of what she said.

“I sincerely doubt that whatever it is on your mind is actually dumb, but even if it is, dumb is a natural part of the human condition. Especially when it comes to emotions.”

-Leila

This quote is a THIS moment. We all do dumb things sometimes and that’s totally okay.

“People hurt each other. It happens to everyone. Intentionally, unintentionally, regretfully or not. It’s a part of what we do as people. The beauty is that we have the ability to heal and forgive.”

-Leila

This quote reminds me of the last line in Allegiant. (#InitiatesCanRelate)

***

My favorite quote:

It was time, she realized. It was time to stop chasing after all that she’d lost…It was time to start living whatever life would come. In the present, not the past. It was time to go home.

This summed up everything that I felt toward the book. The book made me realize that this is true.

***

My rating:

Cover: 5/5, It gave me the right idea about the book. I love it so much.

Title/Tagline: 4.5/5, The title was the one that caught my attention. It went well with the cover.

First Part: 5/5, I had a healthy dose of swoony feels!

Midpoint: 4.5/5, I understood what the title really meant, and the story had more depth in it.

Ending: 4.5/5, A little cliché, but it was what I wanted to happen. 🙂

Lesson/s: 5/5, I had a lot of THIS moments (you know what I mean here, right?) and the story proved the saying that you don’t need a reason to help people.

Character Development: I’ve seen a lot of character development in Leila, and what made this book more awesome is that Leila’s development became contagious when she helped the other characters in the book. So much love!

Uniqueness of the Plot: 5/5, Double thumbs up for the plot of this book!

Overall Impact: 4/5, The book didn’t make it to my Books that Mean a Lot Me shelf on Goodreads, but I’ve learned a lot and that’s something to be proud about. 🙂

***

FINAL RATING: 4.72/5

***

Final Words:

It’s totally okay to lose yourself sometimes. Just don’t overdo it.

Signature

2 thoughts on “Let’s Get Lost by Adi Alsaid

What do you think?

