Blogger Interview: Dianne from Oops! I Read a Book Again


Dianne

Dianne is one of my first friends in the book blogging world. Like Hazel, she also gave me some book blogging advice and I also got to meet her at the book signing event last April 26. She graduated from the university that I’ll be studying at when August comes (I’m gonna go to college! *excitedly nervous*).

Dianne is now on the blog for an interview! Read on!

***

The Interview

PERSONAL QUESTIONS

When is your birthday?

November 3, 1993.

How old are you?

20 at the moment!

Favorite food?

Is it even possible to answer this question? I’m on the plus side so I’d say a lot. 😛

Favorite color?

Simple answer: blue. Pretentious-sounding answer but my real favorite color: sunrise (starting from the blue-violet-indigo to when the sun comes out)

(All I can say is, WOW. 🙂 Your real favorite color is very unique.)

Favorite flower?

I’m so not a girl so I actually don’t have a favorite flower. But stargazers are nice but they’re too smelly to me. So I don’t know…

Favorite song?

This is impossible to answer!!!!!!!!!! But okay, maybe it’s I CAN LIFT A CAR by Walk the Moon. It’s more of a moving on song but it was my thesis song. It also makes me believe that I can do anything. 🙂

Favorite TV show?

Suits!!!!!!!!!!

Favorite place to read and/or write?

Under natural light! I love reading under the sun but I almost always read at night so this is kinda rare. Usually during vacations only or when I’m commuting.

Favorite book?

The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry. I know it’s for kids but I think the themes of the book transcends all ages. I read this at least once a year and my interpretation changes every time. Maybe because I’ve been through something different that year or I grew up or I matured but it’s just a different experience every time.

ON BLOGGING

Why do you blog?

First, to promote and pimp books and authors I love. Second, to share my thoughts about books I’ve read. I’ve been blogging since 2005 or 2006 and I’ve been reviewing since 2008 (albeit they were not books) so I guess it’s just natural to me to share my opinion. It makes my day when someone says that he or she read a book because of my review. That never gets old. Third, and I just realized this now, I blogged to meet other people with the same interest as me, which is reading. ❤

Who are you when you’re blogging?

Well, I think I’m at my most passionate when I blog. I don’t have to do this but I do it because I love reading.

Who are you when you’re not blogging?

I actually work as a science researcher and I’m also taking up my Master’s degree. While I don’t come across as especially ranty in my reviews, I do rant a lot about books, movies, TV shows, and everything under the sun with my friends. Don’t be fooled by my angelic blogging persona. O:D Kidding!

Which do you prefer more?

I actually prefer my non-blogging self because I’m more direct and honest. I could hate a book but make it sound that I just dislike it because I don’t want to bash books. Sometimes I also feel like I need to be extra nice when my blogger self is on, which is not my usual self. It can get tiring but that’s how it is! I don’t want to come across as rude and mean.

How do you see yourself in the blogosphere?

I’m no big blogger but I do think I’m everywhere. From organizing tours at Oops! I Read Again tours, to being one of the administrators of Pinoy Book Tours, I dabble in a lot of stuff.

What drives you to blog more?

What drives me to blog more is when my favorite books do not get the hype and buzz they deserve. That pushes me more than anything else. (Plugging PLUS ONE by Elizabeth Fama, woo! Please, just read it, you guys.)

Are you a perfectionist when it comes to your blog?

No, a big big no. I’m not a perfectionist in real life too although I like doing things myself. Except for graphic design. Because I suck at that.

Do you like making outlines when you write a blog post, or do you prefer to start from scratch and work your way from there?

I never outline, unless you count my list reviews. Which is just me being lazy. It’s easier to just list the reasons why I love the novel and work from there. But as much as possible, I don’t do that. It’s my go-to though for hard-to-review novels, which are mostly books I love. I just wing my reviews and type whatever I can think of. My reviews are very anecdotal, that I put bits of my life and my day in there, so it just goes out of my fingertips.

How much do your followers mean to you?

I am extremely grateful for them. Without them, my blog would just be a lonely corner in the blogosphere and my reviews would be for naught.

What is the best blogging advice that you could share with us?

Don’t blog for anyone else. Blog for yourself. (But that doesn’t mean you can be mean!)

ON BOOK DISCRIMINATION

How would you define book discrimination?

Honestly, before you asked me for this interview, I haven’t thought much about book discrimination. But then recently, we all know how adults reading YA have been getting some flak. That’s when it hit me that book discrimination is a thing. I think it’s not reading and more specifically, judging, a book, a genre, or an age category, as something of lesser quality or as something not worth reading.

How do you feel about it?

I think people should mind their own business. Why do some people care and judge people who read YA even though they’re already adults? I think we should be open-minded and accepting of other people’s choices. It’s not as if YA books or LGBT fiction are doing any bad. However, personal book discrimination is fine with me. I’m sure everyone has preferences in books and most of us only read certain genres or focus mostly on a certain age category. But we should never go around bashing a book, a genre, or an age category. But publicly shaming books and people who read them? That’s low.

What do you think is the cause of book discrimination?

I think the two primary causes of book discrimination are ignorance and prejudice. Maybe some of these book-shaming people have read a few novels in that genre and they didn’t like these books. They then go form an opinion about the same type of books. Maybe because young adult novels are supposedly for young adults, some people think these works don’t have depth or that they do not tackle social issues. Which is an unfounded opinion. Ignorance and prejudice, for sure.

What would you do against it?

As a blogger, I think we should all act against it. Your event is a great step in this endeavor and I commend you for it, Fay. Personally, I guess I should try to read more historical fiction and fantasy! As for specific plans of action, maybe I could start a feature where I promote underrated books or books that I don’t usually read but I highly enjoyed.

(Thank you so much! I have thought of this topic because there are some underrated books that I really love. That’s why I do my best to spread the word about those books–and who knows? The authors might be invited here for a book signing event! Squee!)

Fill in the blanks. More people should read ________ by ________ because ________.

More people should read LGBT novels and “issue” books to raise awareness.

***

You can visit Dianne’s blog here.

Signature

3 thoughts on “Blogger Interview: Dianne from Oops! I Read a Book Again

What do you think?

