The Black Butterfly by Shirley Reva Vernick


The Black ButterflyThe Black Butterfly by Shirley Reva Vernick

Publication Date: July 15, 2014 by Cinco Puntos Press

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

[Special thanks to Cinco Puntos Press and Edelweiss for the review copy!]

Goodreads Summary:

Penny is furious, and who can blame her? She has to spend Christmas break alone at the Black Butterfly, an old inn at the coldest, bleakest edge of America—the coast of Maine. This “vacation” is the brainchild of Penny’s flaky mother, who’s on the other side of the country hunting ghosts. Penny most definitely does not believe in spirits. Or love. Or family. Until, that is, she discovers two very real apparitions which only she can see…and meets George, the handsome son of the inn’s owner…and crashes into some staggering family secrets. If only Ghost Girl didn’t want Penny dead. If only George were the tiniest bit open to believing. If only she could tell her mother. Then maybe this could still be a vacation. But it’s not. It’s a race for her life, her first love, and her sanity.

My thoughts:

This book caught my attention because of its title–I’m a big fan of butterflies and I became so curious about this book. When I started it, I liked the main character right away. Penny collects quotes and that’s so awesome. She’s also taking up creative writing–so I felt that I’m really gonna like her.

This book reminded me of Everything I Never Told You because of two things: the length of the chapters and the family matters. The first part of the book turned out to be a bit boring because the chapters were too long. The midpoint made up for it, though.

A lot of unexpected things happened–I love surprises and I was delighted to discover the truths behind the mysteries.

There was a really cute love story–it was open ended and I really hope for a sequel, but I don’t think there’ll be one. #SadFace

There was another cute love story–but it was a secret one. How interesting. You’d smile when you find out who the secret couple was. 🙂

There were creepy moments that were suspenseful, too. I like how they all made sense as I continued reading.

The family matters were the usual–the single mother and her struggle to raise her child and the girl who didn’t understand the whole story. There was another side story, but if I tell you about that, the great plot twist would be spoiled.

There were friendship matters too. There was betrayal, followed by a cold war, and forgiveness. You have to read to know who was betrayed and who was forgiven for the betrayal. (Exciting, right?)

The Black Butterfly isn’t a horror book–the paranormal side was very light (I’m a big scaredy cat and I wasn’t scared of it, maybe because I didn’t get to experience it myself) so I’d recommend this to those who want a light read. I found it to be unique.

***

Quotes:

I collect something that’s legal and takes up a lot less space: quotes. I can’t say why, exactly, except that I like words. You can do things with words–vent, fantasize, escape, create–and you never have to worry about them walking out on you…I think the day I’ll know I’ve made good in this world is the day I hear someone quoting me.

Well said, Penny. Well said.

He was a million questions and not enough answers. He was there and he wasn’t there, and he was sledgehammering my version of reality.

This one is metaphorical. I like it.

My favorite quote:

Forgiveness doesn’t change the past, but it does enlarge the future.

Penny quoted someone in here. She said that she can’t remember who said it, so I looked the quote up to find out if it was said by a real person. I found out that it was Paul Boese.

***

My rating:

Cover: 4/5, It suggests mystery and something creepy.

Title/Tagline: 4.5/5, Appealed to me right away.

First Part: 4/5, Chapters were too long, but I like how the story was introduced.

Midpoint: 6/5, Best midpoint ever. #Feels

Ending: 4.5/5, Satisfying.

Lesson/s: 4/5, Family, friendships, and the quotes were awesome.

Character Development: 4/5, Great character development, but not in everyone.

Uniqueness of the Plot: 5/5, Very unique and new to me.

Overall Impact: 3.5/5, Didn’t have much impact on me, but the story was great.

***

FINAL RATING: 4.38/5

***

Final Words:

Before you condemn, know the struggle.

Signature

4 thoughts on “The Black Butterfly by Shirley Reva Vernick

  1. Wow! When I read the blurb and saw “ghosts”, I got discouraged because I dislike horror stuff. I almost did not want to read ’til the end of your review but I’m glad I did because it turned out you’re a scaredy-cat, too, but you read it! Thank you! Your review sounds interesting. I’m adding this book to my TBR 🙂

What do you think?

