Author Interview: Emily Poule


Emily Poule was born in the most unremarkable city in Iowa with a peculiar propensity towards practicality. She saved every bit of her allowance, stayed in to study on the weekends, collected figurines of small animals, sketched pictures of potted plants, and read period romance novels of the Julia Quinn variety. Then, in her very first semester as a PHD student, she did the least rational thing she could think of — she dropped out to write chick lit. After some stints as a barista, tutor, and professional dog walker, she finally got her footing as a free-lance writer and hasn’t looked back since. These days, she splits her time between Dublin and Chicago in search of functional Wi-Fi, attractive men, and coffee strong enough to caffeinate an Indian Elephant. She still collects figurines.

I met Emily via Twitter. She sent a a review copy of her book, Here for the Cake (Click here for my review!), and I had the chance to interview her! 🙂

***


The Interview

PERSONAL QUESTIONS

What is your full name?

Emily J. Poule.

When is your birthday?

November 17, 1985.

How old are you?

28 years old.

Favorite food?

Pad Thai….obsessed.

Favorite color?

Sea green.

Favorite flower?

Jasmine flower.

Favorite song?

Uninvited, Alanis Morisette.

Favorite TV show?

Friends.

Favorite place to read and/or write?

The papasan chair in my bedroom.

Favorite book? (The one that you’ll never get tired of reading.)

The Brief and Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao.

ON WRITING

Who are you when you’re writing?

I am the child Oscar Wilde had before he realized he was gay.

Who are you when you’re not writing?

Liz Lemon.

Which do you prefer more? (You when you’re writing or you when you’re not writing?)

Definitely Oscar Wilde’s illegitimate child.

What drives you to write more?

I have no idea. I love doing it. I love sitting at my computer, shutting the door, and talking to my laptop. It’s great fun.

How often do you experience writer’s block and what do you do to get out of it?

Daily! I reread “The War of Art.” Steven Pressfield’s book. Its an amazing writer’s manifesto and it kicks my butt into gear.

Are you a perfectionist when it comes to your work?

Definitely a perfectionist with the story and rhetoric but I rely on other perfectionists for editing.

Do you like making outlines when you write, or do you prefer to start from scratch and work your way from there?

Outlines. All great things take planning.

If you could do both at the same speed, which would you prefer: Writing on paper or typing your words? Why?

Typing, typing. It’s much prettier that way.

What is the best writing advice that you could share with us?

Writing is a contribution. Every day, write because you want to contribute to the lives of others.

Of all the things that you’ve ever written, which one is the most special to you?

So far, this book (Here for the Cake). It’s my first complete novel.

ON HER BOOK

What inspired the idea of Here for the Cake?

Well, I’m really into weddings and reunions of friends. I’m a bit sentimental that way. I wanted to write a story about people who get second chances…and the difficulty of letting go of the relationships that define our childhood or inform our adult identities. Plus, I really wanted to laugh. The characters are all people I know and I just had the best time writing it.

What message would you like your readers to learn from that book?

I guess that letting go is hard and it’s emotional…and it’s ok to love something that’s over or be hopeful and nostalgic. It just means that you know how to love and you just need to find someone who loves the way you love.
And your girlfriends are awesome. If nothing else, always, always, honor your girlfriends.

What is the greatest challenge that you have encountered in the publishing world and how did you overcome it?

Learning the market. Outside of the guidance of my friend, India Lee, I did everything by myself–the editing, formatting, revising…it was exhausting and I felt like the first three months were really about learning how to use social media platforms. Now, I”m just really enjoying myself.

ON BOOK DISCRIMINATION

How would you define book discrimination?

Judging a book by it’s cover, I suppose, or it’s pedigree.

How do you feel about it?

Well, I’m a self-published writer so I definitely feel like I’m part of the population that more discerning readers might discriminate against.

What do you think is the cause of book discrimination?

Well, we’re used to consuming products from trusted sources. Authors that lack credibility may not be met with the same kind of warmth and interest as a book from a traditional publishing house. I understand it, however, I have seen a lot of self-pub books that have really incredibly synopsis’. It’s all about the story to me.

What would you do against it?

If I read a book I like, I’m all for promoting it, regardless of it’s “credibility” good story, good voice, good book.

More people should read ________ by ________ because ________.

More people should read  Normal is the Watchword by Jasmine Tru because it’s really creative and intoxicating.

***

Emily will be giving away three copies of Here for the Cake! Giveaway will be up at the end of the month. Stay tuned for more interviews and random reactions shared by fellow bibliophiles!

Signature

2 thoughts on “Author Interview: Emily Poule

What do you think?

