Boomerang by Noelle August


Boomerang Blog Tour Banner

BoomerangBoomerang by Noelle August

Publication Date: July 8, 2014 by William Morrow Paperbacks

Genre: New Adult Contemporary

[Special thanks to Lorin for the review copy!]

[I also got a review copy via Edelweiss from the publisher (thank you!) for the blog tour organized by Bookslapped.]

Goodreads Summary:

Welcome to Boomerang.com, the dating site for the millennial gen with its no-fuss, no-commitments matchups, and where work is steamier than any random hook-up.

Mia Galliano is an aspiring filmmaker. Ethan Vance has just played his last game as a collegiate soccer star. They’re sharp, hungry for success, and they share a secret.

Last night, Ethan and Mia met at a bar, and, well . . . one thing led to another, which led to them waking up the next morning—together. Things turned awkward in a hurry when they found themselves sharing a post hookup taxi . . . to the same place: Boomerang headquarters.

What began as a powerful connection between them is treated to a cold shower courtesy of two major complications. First, Boomerang has a strict policy against co-worker dating. And second, they’re now competitors for only one job at the end of summer.

As their internships come to an end, will they manage to keep their eyes on the future and their hands off each other, or will the pull of attraction put them right back where they started?

My thoughts:

Boomerang was added to the list of my most anticipated books right after Veronica announced that she’ll be co-authoring a New Adult book with Lorin.

Boomerang will be very different from Under the Never Sky, I am aware of that. So I didn’t expect anything Under the Never Sky-ish. I expected a New Adult book. And I got what I expected. Except for the fact that it was so much more than that.

The book made me laugh-smile most of the time. It gave me a lot of swoony feels and the right amount of depth that I’m looking for.

Let me talk about that. The first scene that caught my heart was when Ethan was asking his dad to lend him some money. You see, Ethan’s family is not rich, unlike Mia’s. So when his Ethan’s father replied no, I understood. But when I continued reading, I smiled and a warm feeling filled my heart. Ethan’s father won’t lend him money, he’ll give him money. “You’re my son,” he said. #FamilyForever

Another part that caught my heart was this: Ethan was dating a woman and she was so obsessed with him, like she wanted to take him home already. I was so pissed at that character because I think that she was so flirty. When the reason why she was like that was revealed, I wanted to sink in my bed and vanish out of guilt. I became so judgmental. And so, in that moment, Boomerang was added to the list of the things that remind me to not judge others without understanding their reasons for doing things. (Well done, V & Lorin!)

Throughout the book, I found some things that are related to Veronica and Lorin, like V’s favorite food and a place that Lorin have never gone to. (For more, see this interview.)

Boomerang was a quick, fun read. I’m glad that I tried to venture into NA with this one. I’d recommend it to 1) those who read NA, 2) those who want to try NA, 3) pretty much everyone within the appropriate age bracket. 🙂 We wouldn’t want the young readers (12 below) to get exposed to the kind of stuff found in NA, right?

To the awesome duo, love you both. ❤ (To the still blue and beyond!)

***

Quotes:

I remember thinking that this was the place that would start my future, but I’m not thinking it right now. I’m trying to figure out the present.

Boomerang is narrated in alternate POVs–Mia’s and Ethan’s. This is from Ethan’s POV. I highlighted it because I like how Ethan tried to focus on the present.

My mom’s special gift–and curse–is seeing what she wants to see. It’s great for art. Not so much for life.

Mia has a great point here. In life, we can’t just see what we want to see. We have to see the whole picture, because the whole picture is reality.

“Best thing in the world is winning something you really fought for. And it doesn’t matter if it’s your thing. Make it your thing.”

-Joe

Joe is Mia’s father. This piece of advice is something that we could all keep in mind.

“It’s the whole situation. I don’t want to have to fight for anything. I don’t want to have to sneak around or prove I’m worth breaking rules for, you know? I want someone who just wants me, without question. And I want to want him back. And just go for it.”

-Mia

Girls, take note. 🙂

I want the kind of love that feels like an arrow snapping from a bow–sharp, inevitable, soaring.

Mia, all I can say is wow.

“Because when you want something, girl, you don’t screw around. You go for it…You don’t wait around for anyone or anything. But with boys, you act like goddamn Sleeping Beauty. Like they’re the only ones with choices to make.”

-Beth

Beth is Mia’s friend. With this, Beth is lecturing Mia on her strong personality towards people–except when it comes to boys (the relationship-kind of boys).

Does the truth set you free, or does it set you on fire?

Each chapter starts with a question. And this is the first question that caught my attention. My answer? The truth could set me on fire, but in the end, it will always set me free. 🙂

Who taught you about true love?

Best question so far. Well, I guess I’ll just be able to answer that one when I’ve found the one.

“How I really feel is that I’m right where I should be.”

-Ethan

Just. Swoon. ❤

I think about how sometimes, all we really need is the wisdom to see what’s been there all along.

So, so true. 🙂

***

My favorite quote:

“Mia, it all goes so fast, but you never feel different inside. We’re all the same age. In here.”

-Evelyn

Evelyn is Mia’s grandmother. When she said this, she put her hand on Mia’s heart. This quote is so deep, and I really loved it. ❤

***

My rating:

Cover: 5/5, Genius. I can trace the letters, N & A. They could stand for New Adult or Noelle August. The cover is attractive, and I like the colors.

Title/Tagline: 4.5/5, Unique title, but didn’t appeal much to me until I read the summary. (Thank God I read the summary!) The title was well-justified throughout the story, especially the ending.

First Part: 4/5, Hmm…sexy. Ethan seems to be a real hot guy and Mia seems to be a real hot girl as well. They are cute.

Midpoint: 4/5, Not as good as other parts, but the story gets better and I like it.

Ending: 5/5, I LOVED IT. All hearts! ❤

Lesson/s: 4.5/5, I love it that there’s more to the story than just Ethan and Mia. There’s depth, and that’s what I look for in the books that I read.

Character Development: 4/5, I’m glad that Ethan and Mia discovered what they really want, and went after what really mattered to them.

Uniqueness of the Plot: 5/5, Never read something like this before. There were a lot of unexpected happenings and I like them all! The story is well planned. 🙂

Overall Impact: 4/5, Boomerang really made me look forward to Rebound. It could have ended there, you know. It could be a stand-alone book. But knowing that it’s the first book of a series, I’m now asking myself a question: What would happen next?

***

FINAL RATING: 4.44/5

***

Giveaways: US & PH!

3 copies of Boomerang (Blog Tour Giveaway–US Only)

2 signed copies of Boomerang (From Veronica–PH Only)

***

Final Words:

In the game of life, play to win. But remember to play fair.

Signature

12 thoughts on “Boomerang by Noelle August

  1. I love to read Boomerang. But I haven’t gotten the chance to do so. YET. I will surely grab a copy of this and read it.

What do you think?

