Author Interview: One-half of Noelle August


Noelle August

NOELLE AUGUST is an anagram for Veronica Rossi and Lorin Oberweger. Just kidding, it’s a pen name!

VERONICA ROSSI is the author of the New York Times Best-selling UNDER THE NEVER SKY trilogy for young adults. The books are available in more than thirty countries and the film rights have been optioned by Warner Bros.

Veronica completed undergraduate studies at UCLA and lives in Northern California with her husband and two sons. She is fond of dresses with pockets, fluffy dogs, and cheese and chocolate — but not together.

LORIN OBERWEGER began her storytelling career by captivating her first-grade class with tales of her summers on a kibbutz in Israel.

Lorin had never been to Israel.

While teacher/parent night put an end to her first experiments in fiction, she’d already caught the bug and eventually made a career of all things story.

As a long-time independent editor and story development guru, Lorin’s client successes range from small press publications to major bestselling novels. She’s an award-winning author and has also worked behind the scenes as a ghostwriter on a variety of projects. Her work has received starred Kirkus reviews and glowing mentions in The New York Times.

Oh, she did get to see a kibbutz, eventually, and found out she had it pretty much right all along.

Veronica and Lorin met at a writing workshop and just knew they were destined to create awesome things together.

***

I feel so honored to have an interview with one-half of Noelle August: Veronica Rossi!

The other (really awesome) half, Lorin Oberweger, is the one who sent me a review copy of Boomerang, along with a note, which I will treasure forever! 🙂

Boomerang + Note

I decided to try my luck in scoring an interview with Noelle August because of my blog event. As I mentioned in one of my reviews (Click here for that post!), I wanted to broaden what I know about the genres of books.

V is known for writing YA (her books are my babies!) and now that she co-wrote Boomerang (which happens to be NA), I wanted to read the book. I wanted to see how V’s writing shifts–from YA to NA.

Some people resist change. That’s why some people who love YA stick to YA. I know that YA is great (It’s the best, for me!) but my love for YA doesn’t mean that I’m closing the doors for other genres. I am always open to change, to adventures, to trying something new, because I believe that I can learn from each book that I read–regardless of the genre.

This is the aim of my blog event–for more people to learn to see the beauty in every book. Just like how there’s beauty in every person, regardless of race. Book discrimination is very similar to racial discrimination–and both should be fought in a peaceful way. 🙂

V will be sharing some things about herself, her books, some writing advice, and–scroll down to the end of the post.

Veronica Rossi

This picture of V is from the book signing event last April 26. (Photo taken by my sister Erin from Bookish Potato)

I have a recap post of that event in my personal/random blog. (Click here for the post!)

***

The Interview

PERSONAL QUESTIONS

Favorite food?

Fish tacos!

Favorite color?

Green or blue. Depends on my mood.

Favorite flower?

Peonies.

Favorite song?

Also depends on my mood. I love all kinds of music!

Favorite TV show?

Also depends on my mood! Sorry! Lately I’ve been enjoying Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D., which got off to a rocky start but really is improving, and Teen Wolf.

Favorite place to read and/or write?

Home or a cafe. I love working at both.

Favorite book? (The one that you’ll never get tired of reading.)

Persuasion by Jane Austen.

(Took note of that, V! *I hope to read that soon!*)

ON WRITING

Who are you when you’re writing?

As close as possible, I try to inhabit the points of view of the characters I’m writing, so… them!

Who are you when you’re not writing?

A mom! So I think that makes me a superhero, too. 🙂

Which do you prefer more? (You when you’re writing or you when you’re not writing?)

Well, I do love writing. I mean I love it. But I also love my family. I love going for walks, watching movies, spending time with friends. I think balance is important. So, I’m going to give you a cop-out answer here and say: both!

What drives you to write more?

That is a really good question, and I’m not sure I have the answer for it! What drives anyone to create? I don’t know! What I do know is that when I’m not creating, I’m not happy. So I suppose I need to keep feeding that internal fire to stay happy. That’s why I write. To feed that fire.

(To feed that fire, such wonderful words, V.)

How often do you experience writer’s block and what do you do to get out of it?

It happens occasionally. I usually try to just write through it, or switch gears and work on something else until I’m ready to go back and try again.

Are you a perfectionist when it comes to your work?

ABSOLUTELY. Yes, yes, yes.

Do you like making outlines when you write, or do you prefer to start from scratch and work your way from there?

It depends on the book. I’ve written both ways. I usually prefer to start with a rough outline, but not always. Every writer has a different process. Mine is: do whatever works!

If you could do both at the same speed, which would you prefer: Writing on paper or typing your words? Why?

Typing – because I don’t like my handwriting!

(I love your handwriting. <3)

What is the best writing advice that you could share with us?

Read a ton. Write a ton. Rinse and repeat! And never give up. Writing a novel is a long and hard road. If you want to do it, then you have to stick to it. You can’t let setbacks stop you.

Of all the things that you’ve ever written, which one is the most special to you?

I’m working on something that I really love right now, but I can’t share it yet (or my agent will kill me!) But hopefully soon!

(Will be waiting for that! <3)

ON HER BOOKS

What inspired the idea of your first book?

UNDER THE NEVER SKY had a few inspiration points. I was thinking a lot about technology and my dependence on it – so it’s an exploration of that. And I also knew I wanted to write about two very different character who came from different societies, and were thrown together by circumstance.

What message would you like your readers to learn from that book?

I know what I got out of writing the book(s), but don’t really write with a message for others in mind. I always like to say: I hope readers get the message they need to hear most from my books.

(This is what V said during the book signing event. See this post for more!)

What inspired the idea of your latest book?

BOOMERANG grew out of a regular Skype chat between Lorin Oberweger and myself. We wanted to set a romance in an online dating service company.

What is the greatest challenge that you have encountered in the publishing world and how did you overcome it?

Learning to work on deadlines was challenging. Learning to become a public writer as well, i.e. getting reviewed by readers, bloggers, critics. But I hate even mentioning either, because the experience has been so overwhelmingly positive!

ON BOOK DISCRIMINATION

V summed it up in one sentence:

“I don’t think anyone should ever feel bad about reading a book!”

-Veronica Rossi

***

(You scrolled? Go back now and read the interview. For those who didn’t, you reached the end of this post–and ta-da!)

Veronica will be giving away two signed copies of Boomerang! Giveaway will be up soon. Stay tuned for more interviews and random reactions shared by fellow bibliophiles!

Signature

4 thoughts on “Author Interview: One-half of Noelle August

What do you think?

