[Guest Post] Stop Hating, Start Reading: A Talk on Book Discrimination


It’s quite rare for me to not finish a book I couldn’t get into. Most of the time, it doesn’t matter if the plot is too slow or the characters are becoming too pretentious or boring, I’d still find the time to finish reading it up to the last page. Whenever I see a book, I try to envision the writer’s tears, pain, heartbreak, happiness and sweat over the duration of making it. Try it.

It’s quite hard for me to dislike or passionately hate a book because I know it takes a great amount of skill and time and patience to finish writing one. As an aspiring writer, I really envy people who do well in this craft because it’s a really hard passion to pursue. But at the same time, I should recognize the fact that not everyone is going to like the stuff I like to write.

I believe that every book and every story has its own spark of magic. I firmly believe that every page takes you to another world and another time, giving you knowledge that you won’t probably get in real life.

Book discrimination, for me, is the plain act of refusing to read a book just because of the negative reviews and hearsays about it. I know some books aren’t as good as others but we must understand that these stories came from different people with widely different minds. Maybe some books aren’t your cup of tea. We all have preferences and biases and we must respect that.

I do read some books despite the bad reviews about it and frankly, there are some that really disappointed me. One particular example is the Fifty Shades of Grey trilogy, which I was so skeptical about but I got around to reading it and now I feel better to post my review about the book after I’ve finished the second one (I didn’t get to read the third because I lost the drive to read about the characters further.)

Books aren’t always perfect because of our personal reasons. There are just some stories that we couldn’t get into, or we just couldn’t go on reading. Banning books isn’t really good, in my opinion. But I guess the more you encourage people not to read something will pique their curiosity more and read it themselves, especially now that almost every book published by a variety of authors is accessible to all.

The best way to stop book discrimination is to read more. I know it’s too obvious but read every book until the last page before you say something about it, or choose not to read it. You never know: you might be in for a surprise. That book you’re refusing to read may be the book that may change your life. Maybe.

To close this rather long talk on book discrimination, I would just like to suggest reading One More Thing: Stories and Other Stories by B.J. Novak. It’s a collection of short stories and I didn’t like some but for the most part, it was really good and funny and a breezy read.

So yeah. As the title suggests, STOP HATING, START READING. 🙂

P.S.

Thank you to Miss Idol, for letting me give my two cents regarding this topic.

***

MEET THE BLOGGER

Mariane Noriega is a great friend of mine. She’s my best writing buddy and I thought that it would be awesome if she could write something for a guest post on my blog. You can read more about her by clicking the 50 Facts About Me page on her blog.

***

What can you say about this post? Share your thoughts by typing in your comments!

Signature

3 thoughts on “[Guest Post] Stop Hating, Start Reading: A Talk on Book Discrimination

What do you think?

