Bibliophile Soprano talks about Book Discrimination


Book discrimination happens when someone chooses not to read a book because of a certain reason. Reasons may include:

  • not familiar with the publisher (a new publishing company, or a new imprint of a big publisher)
  • author is self-published
  • not familiar with the genre
  • doesn’t like the cover (happens a lot, as I observed)
  • didn’t like the past works of the author (if the author has written some books before)

The list will go on. If you have something to share, you can do so via the comments. However, if you want to be anonymous. You can use my Tumblr ask.

I feel sad…and guilty. I used to discriminate a lot of books (especially self-published ones) before. But when I started writing two years ago, I slowly realized what I was doing. Since then, I did my best to change. I read self-published books now, and I like discovering new genres that I might fall in love with.

I think book discrimination is caused by human nature. We tend to go with the flow. There are two sides in this:

The Good Side

You found out what’s popular, tried it, and loved it. This is okay, this is good, actually. That’s how best-sellers are born.

The Not-So-Good Side

You found out what’s popular, tried it, and pretended to love it even if you really don’t, just to fit in, just to belong. Maybe all of your friends love it and you’ll feel left out if we don’t love it as much as they do. That’s okay. It happens to almost everyone. But here’s a quote from Emma Watson that may change your mind if you’re in this side.

“Don’t feel stupid if you don’t like what everyone else pretends to love.”

-Emma Watson

I started this blog event–The Book Discrimination Awareness Month to help others realize that discrimination could happen in books, too. Some people may not be aware of what they were doing (like me two years ago).

It’s okay to be guilty with book discrimination. It’s never too late to change our ways and be better people, right? So don’t feel bad if you find yourself guilty. (Because I actually think that most of us are. And that’s totally okay.)

One book that I’d like to share with you guys is Out of the Dust by Karen Hesse–it’s the first novel that I’ve ever read (for a book report in fifth grade) and it started my love for reading. It’s a very special book to me, and if you find yourselves a copy, give it a try–it’s a quick read.

For the whole month of July, you’ll get to hear some insights on book discrimination–some from fellow bibliophiles, some from book bloggers, and there are also some authors who would share what they think.

You’ll also meet some authors that you may/may not be familiar with.

And as I mentioned in the post last week, at the end of the month, there’ll be a little surprise for everyone who’s been with me (and all others who participated) in this blog event.

Hoping to see you around! 🙂

Signature

7 thoughts on “Bibliophile Soprano talks about Book Discrimination

  1. I am guilty of book discrimination, although I don’t know how bad I feel about it. :0
    I think in some cases, book discrimination is necessary. I mean, there’s thousands upon thousands of books out there, and they have to be narrowed down somehow. If I didn’t like the past works of the author, or if the cover leads me to believe that the book isn’t my style, then it helps me give all those other books a chance, too. As for the genre thing, a lot of people know which genres they dislike, and although it’s good to branch out, a lot of people would end up disliking the books they got if they ignored the fact that it’s from a genre they hate.
    That said, I do believe that you shouldn’t turn down a book simply because it comes from a new publisher or because the author is self published. Usually I don’t even look at the publisher before buying, and although I don’t get to read a lot of self published authors because I prefer physically copies of books over kindles and nooks, I certainly wouldn’t disregard their book just because they’re new.
    Interesting post. I enjoyed reading it. 🙂 Made me think a lot about book discrimination and whether certain types of discrimination are worse than others.

  2. This is why I try to read everything. As in everything. Even if it’s not my genre. I didn’t want to discriminate anything.

What do you think?

