Swimming Through Clouds by Rajdeep Paulus


Swimming Through Clouds

Mileventwelve’s Rating: 8/10

Swimming Through Clouds reminded me of Eleanor & Park.

Talia’s father is worse than Eleanor’s stepdad. Imagine a father who would pour boiling water to your arm as a punishment for not finishing chores on time. Imagine a father who would keep his wife inside a closet just to show her that he’s in control.

No wonder why Talia’s brother, Justice, often thinks about suicide.

Talia just lived for her brother, because of a promise that her mother asked her to make.

It’s as if there was no way out of her life.

Until Lagan came.

Lagan, with a pad of Post-it notes. Little pieces of paper that gave Talia hope. Post-it notes started their friendship that grew into love.

Talia was able to swim through the clouds that held her captive for so long. And I’m happy for her.

I gave 8 points to this book because it’s good. It’s something that I can talk about, and even recommend to other people. It’s the first time that I’ve read a book with that much violence, especially at home.

Remember what I said about bad parents on my review for Fangirl? This is what I’m talking about. I could almost feel Talia’s pain as she counts to ten. Ten slow seconds of boiling water running down her arms. And now I am thinking, can a father really do that to his daughter?

Thank God for Lagan. Seriously, I don’t know if Talia can live through senior year without the hope that Lagan gave her. He was very understanding, and he respects Talia. He is one great guy, and Talia is lucky to have him.

I would have given this book 10 points. The story was that good. But there are some things that influenced my rating for this book.

The spelling for Justice’s nickname. Is it Jess, or Jesse? I felt like the author was using the two spellings alternately. It’s not a big deal, but it was a bit distracting.

When I was halfway through the book, months were passing too fast. Maybe it’s because of the rules that bound Talia to her home. She can’t meet with Lagan without being prepared. Every meeting has to be planned perfectly in order for them not to be busted by her dad.

I don’t know why, but at first, I felt like this book was a quick read, but then I found myself spending more than a week to read it. I started right after Fangirl, which I finished in just two days. I found the middle chapters to be dragging. I had to force myself to finish the book because I have to beat a deadline that I have set myself—to post a book review every week.

There are really words which I don’t feel. Not that I hate those words, but I just don’t like them.

If it weren’t for those little things, this book could stand beside the bestsellers.

At first, I didn’t plan to sing a song for this book. But then I found one that I think would fit. Believe me, I did my best to sing the song. I hope my best is enough. The song is pretty hard. Don’t put the volume to the maximum while listening… 🙂

Mileventwelve’s Bookish Song for Swimming Through Clouds

“And if you keep falling down don’t you dare give in…”

Note: The minus one is from Rachelle Ann Go’s version of the song.

5 thoughts on “Swimming Through Clouds by Rajdeep Paulus

What do you think?

