Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell


Eleanor & Park

Mileventwelve’s Rating: 10/10

I started reading Eleanor & Park last January 2 and finished reading it last January 13. I couldn’t read continuously because of my busy schedule, but I’m thankful to have finished this book in less than two weeks.

Eleanor & Park was the first book that I read in 2014 and I don’t regret anything. It started my year right.

The book is reality. It talks about things that happen now, and it makes people realize that love is not always about being with your special someone, and that there is not always a happy ending to every love story.

I now understand why so many people have read it. So many people are reading it right now, and so many people are planning to read it.

It was like Rainbow was telling a story in the perspective of a high school student. Words raw, and there were no exceptions with the curses. It’s like reading the point of view of a typical school girl witnessing a young couple around.

I love it.

“Holding Eleanor’s hand was like holding a butterfly. Or a heartbeat. Like holding something complete, and completely alive.”

Reading parts like those, everything felt real. It’s as if my own hand was being held by Park. The book was written in a way that would let the reader feel like things are actually happening.

But the book wasn’t only about the love story of the two main characters. It touched some issues regarding broken families and different types of upbringing by parents. It also highlights the natural judgmental personality of people, which is very common, especially in schools.

It wasn’t a happy book. It was a real book. I didn’t know what to feel when I read the last chapters of the book. I didn’t even know if I should feel something, because I was totally speechless and I couldn’t explain what I feel, even to myself.

“He tried to remember how this happened–how she went from someone he’d never met to the only one who mattered.”

There’s a saying that goes like this: “Some people are meant to fall in love with each other but are not meant to be together.”

It was heart-breaking.

Will I sing a bookish song for this book?

Was that even a question?

I actually planned on singing “The Story of Us” by Taylor Swift. That was the first song that came into my mind. But then I thought, I could sing another one. The other song is called “It’s Gonna Be Love” by Mandy Moore.

You can listen to them here.

Mileventwelve’s Bookish Songs for Eleanor & Park

“And the story of us looks a lot like a tragedy now…”

“If I’m asking you to hold me tight, then it’s gonna be all right…”

8 thoughts on “Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

  1. I’ve never read E&P, and I’m not sure I will because I steer clear of sad/heartbreaking stories, but I enjoyed your review ๐Ÿ™‚ Goodluck with blogging~

    1. Thanks for the comment! I think it’s nice to read heart-breaking stories every once in a while. They remind us that life is not always happy and that the hardships that we have to go through will do good to us in the end. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. So I still haven’t read this book and reading this post made me remember that I should be reading this book. I don’t know anything about this book as in , besides knowing it’s about Eleanor and Park
    (obviously) I know nothing. However, I think it’s another book that would break my heart. With that line ‘Some people are meant to fall in love with each other but are not meant to be together.’ I mean, what does that mean but heartbreak? ๐Ÿ˜ฅ Anyway, I’m still going to read this book.

What do you think?

